We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restored theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pantages Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pantages Theater
901 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402
253 591 5890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 87 things to do in Tacoma
Attraction details
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful restored theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We see live theatre at the Pantages at least a couple of times a year and we're always glad we did. The theatre is in downtown Tacoma so restaurants & shops are close. It's a beautiful old theatre.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ed Asner at the Pantages - 2 gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In early 2013, we drove from Seattle to the Pantages Theater in Tacoma to see Ed Asner, a wonderful actor and seasoned pro. He performed a one man show as Franklin Roosevelt - great stamina, fabulous performance. The Pantages Theater is a beautifully restored vaudeville-era theater - just lovely. Nice sight lines, great sound, comfy seats. Just small enough to make you feel connected to the performer. Lots of volunteers helped make our time there quite pleasant. We would definitely make the trip from Seattle again for the right show at this venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pantages Theater-Tacoma WA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to the Roosevelt show at the Pantages and were seated on the main floor, row R. All of the seats on the main floor had a great view and the sound system was wonderful. This was a one man play that was terrific. The lobby area is large and they were selling beverages and candy bars and nuts. Prices were way too high. Bathrooms are down a long flight of stairs. People working seems to really enjoy their jobs and were very helpful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Would make the short drive to Seattle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you are taking a young child for their first theatre experience this is an okay, cute little theatre. If you’re looking for "the real deal" theatre experience with cultured audience, staff and professional troupes/companies it will be worth your while to make the drive to Seattle or you will be disappointed; especially if you are a seasoned theatre patron.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, classic theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely theater for a night on the town that is well maintained and lovely for seeing small orchestral performances. Not a bad seat in the house!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantages Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantages Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.