We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galanga Thai Cuisine

Galanga Thai Cuisine
1129 Broadway, Tacoma, WA 98402-3502
253-272-3393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 666 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was very lucky to stumble across this restaurant. So close to the building I was working in and great prices overall. The spring rolls were fantastic as was the #14. Can't recall the name but it made my taste buds sing. The Thai iced tea is delicious. Service is sufficient. I have been for both lunch and dinner and eat in and take out and have not been disappointed in any of my choices there. I just wish they took Amercian Express!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Tacoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our area is fortunate to have many Asian restaurants including Thai and Vietnamese but Galanga Thai is the absolute best, and I have tried them all! It is run by a Thai woman and her American husband. The food is fresh and perfectly spiced and the presentation is always beautiful. The Swimming Rama is made with fresh spinach instead of the limp steamed spinach often found at other Thai restaurants, and their homemade peanut sauce is perfect and does not overwhelm the flavor of the spinach. My other favorites are Drunken Noodles, a wide rice noodle with lots of basil and veggies and the Paeneng curry. The Tom Kha and beef soups are also perfectly flavored and the portions are enormous. It gets very busy over the lunch hour with downtown workers and the parking can be tricky but it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not so sure about our dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A friend on my van pool recommended this place. My boyfriend and I went for dinner. The Thai coffee was good, but the food was so-so. I've had better. It could have been the dishes we chose. But each dish ha the same flavor and was drenched in sauce. We might go back to check out there lunch, but probably not for dinner unless I'm invited,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have had lunch several times and always been pleased. I have not tried dinner infact, I don't know if they are open for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good place for Lunch in Downtown Tacoma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I work pretty close to this restaurant and it is a nice place to run for lunch. I usually get the Kamongean (probably spelling it wrong), but it is a green curry base with meat or tofu, noodles and a ton of fresh vegetables. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galanga Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Galanga Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galanga Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.