We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disapponted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Tacoma Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Commerce Street, Tacoma, WA 98402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Tacoma
Temecula,Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Disapponted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Hotel Itself is very nice, very clean, great amenities as far as restaurant, pool, lounge etc... As our stay continued I became more and more disappointed with this hotel and its a shame.
Here are my complaints: Shower,Parking, Internet, Staff
To start off we were driving a ridiculously large truck(company vehicle) and paid for parking in one of their remote lots. We received a parking ticket because security said the key card reader was broken and assumed we jumped the curb(they actually had to gall to write that on the ticket). We drove right in just like everyone else swiped the card and parked.
Secondly, I badly needed to get an importnant document emailed and printed out but their internet was terrible!!!! It was slower than any dial connection out there. So I called the desk and the girl said (to sum it up) thats not my job you have to call tech support! I was shocked!!! Do you work here or don't you? Anyway, called tech support still didn't work. Then the nect day tried to print out my document and don't even get me started on their "business library" its impossible to get anything done because there are so many security restrictions. I have a newer version of EXCEL and their printer would not let me upload... BTW never got my document printed out had to go to best western and use their printer VERY SAD
Thirdly, I took a shower and the bathroom floor was flooded because the shower curtains are useless.
Fourth, We had 3 rooms for employees and when we checked in they asked for AAA card for the discount. Howvever when we checked out they refused(yes refused) to honor the AAA rate for 1 of our rooms.
MY BIGGEST PROBLEM, there were only 2 staff members that actually gave a damn that we were having so many problems... 1 lady Yameekia got our ticket removed because she was the one who gave us the parking pass and another lady I don't remember her name but she did everything possible to help me print out my document as she understood that it was very important. Everyone else didn't give two [--] and to me thats very unacceptable. As a Marriott Owner and Elite Club Member I will never stay there again.
PS Definitely not quiet... Trains, Airplanes, Trollys and freeway

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    73
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
24
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

I had to rush to Tacoma last week when my daughter, a college student, was in an accident. We stayed in the Courtyard for a few days after she was released from the hospital. The hotel was very clean and quiet, and the staff exceptionally courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel offers free high speed internet and printing. I found parking on the street, but it is limited.

This hotel is across the street from the Tacoma Convention Center and Art Museum and a few blocks from the UW Tacoma Campus. Nearby are several cafes, restaurants, boutiques and bookstores.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Great new downtown hotel with big, nicely equiped rooms, excellent service and good location. The reception arranged for a return limo to the airport on their own initiative. Everything in hotel is new and well designed. The only downside was that heating even in early November was not that great. That could be a problem during the winter.

  • Liked — location, room size, design
  • Disliked — heating
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

I want to clarify that I've never actually stayed at this hotel, only used their on-site spa. No one seems to have mentioned it in their review, which leads me to believe it's a sort of hidden gem. It's not surprising, since this is really more of a business traveller hotel. But if you are staying there, and you have time and money for a massage or other spa treatment, you won't regret doing it here. This unassuming little business hotel blew me away with it's luxurious spa facility. It far surpassed the quality of service and facilities I've experienced at destination resorts that are known widely for their great spas. The dedicated couples massage room with it's private jacuzzi, fiber-optic lighting, and a shower with what seems like a million nozzles, creates a romantic little sanctuary in the middle of this otherwise "vanilla" hotel.

  • Liked — The Spa
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here while we were in washington for a concert. I cannot say enough about the bellman/valet. He worked the whole weekend, and never frowned. He was always friendly, kidding with us and had a smile on his face. Room was very nice, there was the Tacoma showcase that weekend so it got a big loud outside but that was fine. Great people and nice hotel. The beds were great

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Fantastic location in a town that's finally reaching it's potential as a waterfront city. The staff was professional and the rooms are very nice (although they deserve flat screens). Outstanding pool and spa. The attached restaurant Pacific Grill is world class and not to be missed.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This hotel is in a good location, situated across the street from the convention center. Although it does not have a restaurant (excluding breakfast), it is located next to several fine restaurants, while also within walking distance of others. The level of decor and the room was at a four-star (out of five) level. There was a pool and work out room.

Drawbacks: Breakfast is $11/person. (It adds up if you're with a family. At most places, this type of breakfast would be complimentary, but we ended up paying $50 for it.) Also parking is around $15/day.

  • Liked — Walking distance to restaurants
  • Disliked — Price of breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Address: 1515 Commerce Street, Tacoma, WA 98402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Courtyard
Tacoma Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.