We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Tacoma Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Commerce Street, Tacoma, WA 98402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Tacoma
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice hotel with mostly great amenities. Within walking distance of art and glass museums, Union station, U Washington, and a few blocks from downtown. The only problem is limited food in the hotel and their "marketplace" is a closet sized store with overpriced snacks. Lots of conference space. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
In addition to the "Market Place" in the hotel, there is a wonderful, full service grocery store located just a block away. It is an easy walk or you can jump on the free Tacoma Link light rail if you have several bags to carry. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    75
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
26
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you need espresso in the morning like I do you won't find it here or even close by. About 4 blocks in either direction will get you to a Starbucks. The staff was great and the facilites were clean. We had an issue as did almost everyone with the elevators. It requires a room key to function but it was difficult to get the reader to read our room card and then it would take off with either up or down until someone figured it out. If you took the steps only located at the ends of the building and lead only to the outside and once out you can't go back in except thru the main entrance. We were on the third floor and and waited long periods for the elevator that never showed up and would use the stairs. It was amazing how often we went to the elevator and the button was lit up but no one around as they did the same thing and bailed for the stairs. Our toilet flapper valve leaked and would constantly make a hissing noise while refilling. We reported it but it never got fixed while we were there. We just turned the supply valve off at night. Pacific Grill in the building served excellent food.

Room Tip: Go to the ends of the building far from the elevator so you will be close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the high marks on cleanliness, a good night's sleep and the food at the Pacific Grill. And thank you for the tip on using the stairs. Especially when we have large groups who come and go all at once, using the elevator could be the slower option. We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The good stuff: Nice hotel with great location. The front desk people were very nice. Allowed us with an early check-in.

The bad stuff: when I made the reservation three months ahead of time I asked for adjoining rooms. We didn't get them! Parking costs $10.00 a day and is not conveniently located, unless you're in Lot A.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I'm so sorry that we did not have adjoining rooms for you, especially since your took the time to request them months in advance. My personal advice for the future, regardless of where you stay, is to call a couple of days before you arrive and talk to the Front Desk staff to see if they can accommodate your request. Because guests come and go and different times during the week, it is hard to know until a few days ahead which rooms will be available. I hope this tip is helpful and I am truly sorry we didn't have the rooms you needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for the WA State LEAN Conference. It was right next door to the convention center and took me 1 minute to walk over. The hotel was very nice, my room was modern, comofortable and clean. It had an unusually long hallway inside the room, but that didn't take away from the comfort.

The only disappointnment was that breakfast was not included. While the spread was nice, it was no different than what I've seen included in lesser expensive hotels. The only difference was your eggs were made to order, or you could just choose the scrambled eggs in the buffet.

The staff was very nice and the valet was worth the extra $4.

Room Tip: Pay for the valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate groups like the LEAN Conference using the Courtyard. We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Should you ever need to attend a function at the Tacoma Convention Center the best place to stay is a the Courtyard. The service was excellent right from check-in. The front desk staff were friendly, welcoming and polite. Walking into this hotel also felt welcoming from the cozy living room set-up with complimentary coffee and tea. Our hotel room was so spacious. It had two queen beds and a sofa pull-out if one needed it. Everything was clean and tidy. Room was great too! The buffet breakfast is perfect to get your day started. They have an omelette station, waffle station and lots of hot food items and pastries, breads, bagels, fruit, cereal, oatmeal and yoghurt. Full on buffet.

This hotel is in easy walking distance to a couple of good restaurants, one being The Rock - woodfire oven pizzas. So good. I felt safe walking with two of friend to and from the hotel to the restaurant too.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! The fireside library is especially cozy in these colder days. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a whole week. There is a grocery store 2 blocks away that carries liquor, restaurants and at least one brewery within walking distance, a children's museum across the street, an easy walk to water where you can see huge starfish and a glass blowing school/museum. Parking will cost you $10 daily to park in a lot almost across the street or get valet for $14 a night. The rooms were nice, clean, and up to date and our room on the 6th floor had a microwave and a fridge. The staff was helpful in making suggestions of things to do and how to get there. There is also a concierge who can help. The pool and hot tub are inside. We ate the Buffett breakfast and it is excellent for $10. Eggs or omelettes to order, waffles, biscuits with gravy, bacon, sausage, french toast, bagels, fruit, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee. If you want grits, bring a package of instant and make them yourself. Tacoma is gritless. I would not hesitate to stay there again. A really fine hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Roulduke,
Thank you for the great descriptions of your stay in Tacoma. My husband always misses the grits, too. People in the west just don't seem to get the whole grits thing, do we? Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Everyone we dealt with working in the hotel went out of their way to be kind, considerate and helpful. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and although the AC very quiet, we were able to open the window for fresh air- which we prefer. Breakfast was fresh and healthy choices were available We left our luggage at reception to attend a day function at the Tacoma Museum of Glass just down the road, and the front desk and valet said they would have our car ready at 2pm when we returned and it was - with the luggage already packed in it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your good experience with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Address: 1515 Commerce Street, Tacoma, WA 98402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Family Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Courtyard
Tacoma Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.