We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halibut & Chips with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katie Downs

Katie Downs
3211 Ruston Wa, Tacoma, WA 98402
(253) 756-0771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 666 Restaurants in Tacoma
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Halibut & Chips with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took out of town guest for halibut and chips. They loved Katie Downs. Not only location and view but the food and the casual atmosphere. There were 5 of us and we all ordered halibut & chips, cod & chips or shrimp & chips. Even though we all had fried food, it was not greasy. The pizza is also very good, we did not have room to enjoy any this trip. Next time....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Awesome casual place with gorgeous views, right on the water and the pizza is awesome!! Even if you go on a cloudy day you can see for miles and miles out of the bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverdale,wa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“still good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were here earlier in the year and,yes the pizza is expensive,but they can affford to charge it as it is still the best pizza in the PNW.The fish and chips,the steamers and the curly fries,ask for them with little seasoning, are all awesome.They could use a little better beer selection with more NW beers.Even when I worked there 20 years ago,I wasn't impressed with it as there is too much Bud,MGD,etc on the taps. We'll probably go back early next year to get our pizza fix.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Casual and Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went to Katie Downs for a business lunch the other day and was pleasantly surprised. While I have always heard great things I hadn't managed to make it down to the restaurant itself. It is definately a bar with a casual atmosphere but without an overtly bar type feel. That may be confusing but let's say most bars you couldn't have a business lunch in but I felt entirely comfortable here. The food was excellent and the view can't be beat. I look forward to going back for dinner as I was impressed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to have a bite to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Best chicken sandwich and love the steak fries. Staff is friendly and if it is a nice day you can sit out side and enjoy the water view.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Katie Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katie Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.