We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nutella Malt what?!!?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Shake Shake

Shake Shake Shake
124 N Tacoma Ave, Tacoma, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 596 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nutella Malt what?!!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

CAUTION! The Nutella malts may cause mouthgasm. If you like Nutella and live within a 100 mile radius, I'm pretty sure it is mandatory to go here. You can also get a Nutella shake if you don't like malts, but I won't ever understand you and your shake loving ways. Malts are far superior.

Have you ever heard of Almond Roca? Me either! I'm from Wisconsin, but I guess that's a big thing in Tacoma 'cause they make it there. I asked the friendly woman at the counter about it and she gave me a sample. Not only was that super nice of her but it was super delish as well.

I can't give it five stars because I didn't try the food. It looks good, though, and there seems to be hipster men sitting by the windows at all times eating it. They don't serve Pabst to my knowledge, so it must be the food that keeps bringing 'em back. Or maybe the Nutella.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Shakes in Seattle/Tacoma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great fun new burger and shake location in Tacoma. I especially like the the Tacoma Dog - an authentic Nathan's Hot Dog, split and grilled served open face! And the shakes are amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Addiction is a terrible thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chocolate Malts have made mandatory detours for those who used to just pass Tacoma on their way to PDX or SEA. Their goal is to let the delicious shake cool them and keep them awake for the reminder of their trip. Futile! It's gone before they get back to I-5!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, USA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Milkshake Heaven in Tacoma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Best milkshakes ever. Burgers and fries mighty fine too. You gotta go! Friendly service and quality meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A fun new spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try something new in Tacoma. Read some good things about this place. Didn't feel like cooking dinner so we went here. An old building now used for a good purpose. We dined outside since it was a nice evening. Plenty of picnic tables. Ordered up front. Ordered the hickory burger. I had the sauce on the side. My wife had it on her burger plus cheese. She ordered the fresh blackberry shake. I wanted a Coke freeze.(shake). They weren't sure how to make it, so I said just add a small amount of Coke to the shake and I'd try it. It was perfect. So was the bb shake. Burgers were very good, 1/4 pound. The sauce was good, much like a good BBQ sauce, but I skipped it. My wife liked it. Fries were freshly cut shoestrings. Very good. Not overly priced, tho the shakes are more expensive than the burgers. Worth it. We will go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shake Shake also viewed

 

Been to Shake Shake Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Shake Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.