We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmon Brewing Co.

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harmon Brewing Co.
1938 Paciific Avenue, Tacoma, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 666 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long journey from the UK and after we settled into our hotel, decided to take a walk. We actually stumbled across the Harmon, and I am glad we did, good food and beer was on offer with a cracking atmosphere. The service was first rate, it was so good that we returned five days later to have our last meal before we continued on our American adventure to Alaska, the atmosphere on this Saturday was electric as it was the day of the Daffodil parade in Tacoma (August 24th). Although bursting at the seams after the parade had finished we were quickly seated and enjoyed another good meal along with some real pleasant ales.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I went to the restaurant with a group of friends because our other choice was close for the day. While I have to say the view and the service were excellent, the food was average at best. The burger which came recommended, had a very funny taste to the beef. I also ordered at the crab cake appetizer and found that it was a 50/50 mix of bread crumbs and crab. Usually when I see this, it is a shortcut to limit the amount of crab used. My drink was well done, and the beer flights ordered by my companions seem to go over very well. I would suggest it is a good place to drink, and average place for food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find for a beer and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Found a review on Google for this place. I love spicy food and found the spicy chicken sandwich to be the answer. Bacon, Franks hot sauce, bleu cheese dressing on a multi grain roll. Awesome! The garlic fries were delicious also. Paired with an IPA like their menu says is the ticket. I will be back tomorrow night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistently good, solid selection, great beer, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Better beer than Rock Wood Fired Pizza and excellent service as well. But RWFP is a better selection. We do like the selection here as well and it is right across the way from the Glass Museum and the free Trolley.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great place to eat. The staff is very knowledgeable about the types of beer which is brewed at Harmon's (it is the only beer they sell in the restaurant). The food is very good and the atmosphere is lively. Lots of people were eating and enjoying themselves the night we were there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmon Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Harmon Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmon Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.