We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Tides come here for your dock side dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse 19

Boathouse 19
9001 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA
253-565-1919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 668 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tacoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Forget the Tides come here for your dock side dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Seating outside is plentiful so no long wait, we were there around 1:30. We didn't have to wait for seating it was very nice out as well.
The service was prompt and friendly. Lunch was very good and they didn't make you wait for refills or additional drinks.
Good wine list and pricing was reasonable.
Skip the snooty and crappy service of Tides Tavern pay the toll and go to Boathouse 19. It's worth the drive.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    25
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have visited here twice by boat this month - once for happy hour drinks and snacks and once for dinner. Previous reviews are critical of the dining experience, but these reviewers found, as we did, that this is a very busy establishment. The fact that we were there both times on a weeknight and this place has only been open a couple of months, tells me that they must be doing something right. They are a casual dining/bar venue -- not a fine dining establishment. It's the same ownership as the Lobster Shop which is much more upscale -- the menu here has almost nothing in common with their other restaurant. The drinks and snacks are emphasized and the food choices are all served on a single plate. This is a place you can come to in shorts and a T-shirt. But all the food tried by our group had a little something extra in the preparation that made it a cut above the normal informal dining fare. We ran into friends who live in Tacoma's west end who have already been there enough to try everything on the menu. They eat here frequently as they feel there is no place else nearby that comes close in terms of food quality or wine and drink selection. Both times we sat on the deck as weather was nice and probably would concur this is the better choice. The small deck size and limited moorage space for boats will be an issue not easily overcome and we'd be inclined not to make plans to come here around the dinner hour on warm weekends (reservations are not accepted). We found the service on a par with most casual dining establishments -- pretty decent if you take into account the short time they have been in operation. Prices were reasonable. A few snack specials might encourage more regular happy hour visits, but this will be high on our list for summer dinner outings - particularly by boat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food was wonderful. I had the Carolina BBQ pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw. Both were excellent. The prices are good, considering the quality and quantity of the food. The service could have been a better. I was dining with a friend and we asked for separate checks but that was not done. Had to ask again to have separate checks. We arrived just before the dinner rush and once the restaurant was busy it seemed to be short staffed. We had the option of waiting 15 minutes for outdoor seating or being seated immediately inside. Wished we had opted for the wait. It was very noise inside and difficult to carry on a conversation. Bottom line: the food is worth it and I would go back but to dine outside only.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biteme
1 review
“Seafood heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We started out with the calamari appetizer- the jalapeno was a nice surprise. I had the oyster poor boy sandwich. It was so bomb! My boyfriend had the cioppino and a shrimp salad. We enjoyed the view,the service and will definatley go back sometime for just dessert. I heard they are amazing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too loud, poor service, food ok but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We tried the new restaurant, "Boathouse 19" for the first time last night. We happened to come during happy hour, but not intentionally. It was very busy, even though it was a Monday night. The noise level was beyond deafening; it was so painful that I really didn't enjoy the evening at all....it never got better, even after we'd been there well past that time. Also, due to the noise it was impossible to talk to the people we were with...either you shouted or you couldn't hear the other person. There is an outside deck, but the wait was long for that, and for most of the year it won't be usable.

The server was friendly but totally incompetent. She didn't tell us about any specials. She didn't ask the two people who ordered burgers what sides they wanted (what would they have gotten from the long list?) nor what toppings, she never filled water or coffee cups, and she had to be asked 4 times by two different people to bring a box for the leftover food, which sat there for at least a half hour. Then she brought it with that person's dessert, which was a hot blueberry crisp with melting ice cream in the middle. So, she had to let the ice cream melt more while she put her food in the box, then have her big, dirty salad bowl there while she ate her dessert. At this restaurant, the food is delivered by other people, so the servers don't do that.....this one did nothing but take our order and our money....nothing in between. She could have been new to serving, but this restaurant is owned by someone who has other successful restaurants....train your staff, please!!

The menu is pretty limited....emphasizing burgers (with choices like turkey, chicken, beef or salmon), sandwiches, salads, with the addition of a few other things like fish tacos, fried fish, salmon, and steak. The two people who had the burgers said they were ok, though my husband said he didn't like the special catsup (too sweet). The person who had the spinach and salmon salad liked hers, and my China Town Chicken salad was ok because I liked the dressing, but definitely NOT what the menu said it was. The description said, "chicken breast, Asian vegetables, crispy rice noodles, sesame soy dressing, toasted almonds, sesame seeds." Given that, I was shocked to find that the salad was 99% lettuce, with a little chicken and 2 small pieces of celery + one tiny piece of red bell pepper, the noodles (not crispy, given the heavy hand on the dressing), and no visible almonds. It tasted ok, but was not as written in the menu at all. When I talked to our waitress about it, she said, "Wasn't there celery in it?" (two pieces of celery counts as "Asian vegetables" as a second ingredient in a description????) It certainly wasn't worth $11 for lettuce and a little chicken.

It might be ok to go here and eat outside, but there are better restaurants in the area....and I CANNOT go again to a place that was so painfully loud in any case.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse 19 also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.