We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of time!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Tacoma

Children's Museum of Tacoma
1501 Pacific Avenue, Tacoma, WA 98402
253-627-6031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 Attractions in Tacoma
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children of all ages will love the interactive activities and structured play that make learning fun through such exhibits as "Under the Big Top: A Circus Adventure," "Grubby Gardeners" and the "Farmer's Market."
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a waste of time!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This can hardly be considered a museum. It's really more of a low budget preschool type setting. It was $18 for us to take my son in to color, read a couple of books, and play with foam blocks. The space is tiny and there wasn't anything in there that you wouldn't find in a typical home of a young child. I was very disappointed in the waste of time and won't be back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Tacoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
You should come visit us in our new location and let us know if we have improved. I think you will be surprised by how much we have changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to really do their”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

My two kid were so board with in a hour they where ready to go home the only thing my kids really like was the balls

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Tacoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
You should come visit us in our new location and let us know if we have improved. I think you will be surprised by how much we have changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Smallest and lamest museum in area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We go there only because we live in the area and my child likes to paint. Other than painting/arts area, not muich there. Has a small grocery store display that is good but nothing much else. Museum is really small, and can get crowded easily. They are opening a new one which will hopefully be better. They do have some good birthday options.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Tacoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
You should come visit us in our new location and let us know if we have improved. I think you will be surprised by how much we have changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

It resembles a mall day care center. Rooms with...toys. A couple of interactive rooms but nothing that would make it worthy of the title "museum". ) ;

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Tacoma, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
You should come visit us in our new location and let us know if we have improved. I think you will be surprised by how much we have changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Forget it !! It is not a "MUSEUM" it is a preschool play area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Terrible misnomer, not a "MUSEUM" by ay strtech of the word. Six dollars for anyone who goes in to visit four rooms of toys and dress up scarves,aprons and hats - many that looked like they needed to be cleaned or discarded. Even my pre-schooler was bored and the teens -well you can imagine.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Tacoma also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Tacoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.