We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprice and small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Glass

Museum of Glass
1801 East Dock Street, Tacoma, WA 98402
866 468 7386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 35 attractions in Tacoma
Type: Specialty Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An international center for contemporary art with a sustained focus on glass.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overprice and small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is not even worth half price admission. You are not allowed to take photos, there are only two small exhibits (maybe three if you count the glassworks in the hallway leading to the bathroom), and the glass making show is so crowded it's nearly impossible to find a space to view it. Definitely not child friendly, either. The best part of our visit was lunch at the cafe inside (which was amazing).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    123
    62
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Where was the glass?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was a good thing that we went on a Thursday afternoon for free, otherwise we'd have been really steamed about paying a lot for very little. There was a small winding hallway with about, oh, twenty-five underwhelming glass structures, all phallically shaped and as dull as can be. We couldn't believe this was the sum-total of the museum. The Hot Shop, where the glass is blown, was actually pretty cool. Surprisingly, it was the gift shop that had the best glass displays, although priced a bit too high for our tastes. All in all, the glass museum was a major disappointment in our Tacoma itinerary.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice to visit once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we live in WA and try some of the tourist attractions out here. this place was a nice experience but a little pricey for us to try again. not a place for kids that like to explore and touch things. i had to hold on to my kids the whole time because they were so amazed of all the different color glass that they wanted to touch it but of course glass is fragile, which we get. im glad that we went to see the glass museum but maybe not again. I know that its only like $12 for adults and like $5 for kids but there are 6 of us and the museum is a small one

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty nice attraction, too bad one gallery closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was fun to watch the glass working demos, and what was on exhibit was nice, but one of the three galleries was closed, so we didn't see as much as a summer visitor. Got a few bucks off admission, though. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Quick Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The museum isn't very big, but definitely worth a visit. I could have watched the live glassblowing for hours. The exhibits rotate, but what we saw was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Glass to your Saves list