We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Above Average Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked upper "quiet" room on 3rd floor middle. Nice large comfy king bed, flat screen TV, big bathroom w/tub-shower combo. Pretty view of harbor with windows that actually opened for a refreshing fragrance. Elect not to keep window open while you sleep, tho, as there are somewhat muffled-type "speakers" at a train crossing about a block away. (In otherwords, the horn ON the train is not used for alerting vehicles, but a set of speakers mounted at the crossing.) The train traffic runs all night and the train itself is at a higher rate of speed. With that said, with the windows shut tight, you don't hear it once you're asleep. I did not need my ear plugs, yay!

The road along the hotel was relatively quiet on a Saturday night, which was surprising. Doesn't appear to be a main artery.

Could hear lots of talking & laughter from room next door as they appeared to be entertaining visitors but that quieted down around 9pm. Was nice NOT to hear the usual hotel noises (doors shutting, ice machines, elevators) as I was exhausted.

Do-It-Yourself Breakfast wasn't too bad. Typical "plastic" scrambled eggs (not overly salty, a plus in my book), pre-cooked sausage, 2 waffle irons, 2 diff kinds of yogurt, variety of fresh RIPE fruit (apples, oranges, bananas), real butter (yay!) as well as margarine, pastries, wheat bread for toast, hot & cold cereals, milk/coffee/tea/OJ. Was missing hot chocolate. (oh well, can't have everything, right?)

The breakfast room has tables set by large ceiling-to-floor windows so try to grab one of those.... unless you are the type to sit with your laptop or phone...please let us who enjoy the view have it. The view out those windows is wonderful!

Walking by myself in the early morning along the bike/walking path was very pleasant. I felt safe and was not concerned for my safety as perhaps other areas of Tacoma. There is a small sandy beach near the hotel if you are traveling with kids. The water there looked relatively calm, albeit very cold.

There is a non-descript fish-n-chips shack close enough to walk to along the walking path. I did not get a chance to try it.

Staff at front desk were exceptionally friendly and polite. That was a refreshing change for me. The off-season rates for this hotel were GREAT. However, high season (May-Sep) the price is astronomical. Would I stay again? Only at an off-season price. To me, the high-season price is NOT quite worth this hotel. That is not a ding to the hotel, just a personal opinion from having stayed in pricey 5star hotels.

Room Tip: Upper middle rooms are quieter. Hotel puts up those exuberant travelers in groups (ie, sporting grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    84
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
89
114
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

the bed was comfortable and the view was nice. It was as advertised. i was somewhat disappointed that the "fireplace" was not a fire at all. I'm not sure if it's just lights behind a fake fire looking design. We kept it on all night for a night light but it really didn't add the ambiance I had hoped for. We would definitely stay again. I just wouldn't splurge for the end room. A side room will still have a view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Perfect location, splendid view. Everything was great about this hotel. We loved walking on the waterfront and had excellent fish and chips. Very helpful staff - we needed good directions because of the construction on the roads. The only less-than-perfect part was the average breakfast with not great coffee. Wonderful room.

Room Tip: Be sure to get good directions to the hotel. There's construction from I 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Here for my son's wrestling tournament and this was the first time I'd ever stayed in Tacoma, so I had absolutely no idea what to expect. I did read the reviews before choosing this hotel and although most were positive, I appreciated very much that the hotel manager replies to every negative review. I understand that not every person's experience can be perfect...but mine was! I would definitely stay here again, even just for a fun relaxing weekend away only an hour from my house!

From start to finish, the experience was pleasant. The booking staff were professional and kind. The check-in was friendly, quick, and informative. The room was clean with a nice view and comfortable arrangement. The shower/water pressure was great. The breakfast was nice, and the coffee was good. We thoroughly appreciated the complimentary shuttle service back and forth from the tournament. We even got a chance to visit the Glass Museum. The room service from the Ram restaurant was also a nice treat after a long day at the Tacoma Dome!

We felt like we were staying on the Oregon Coast somewhere, that's how relaxing and quiet we found the entire neighborhood to be. We loved the waterfront walkways, docks, and bridges. The nearby train did not bother us at all and was just something else to enjoy. My 3 year old loved watching the train go by from our room, while his grandmother and I enjoyed the water view. It is also interesting to note that even though I know the hotel was full of teenagers in town for the weekend tournament...we did not hear a peep all night!

Little bonuses:
Morning newspaper at your door
Complimentary coffee/tea service 24 hours a day with mugs as well as to-go cups (and it's decent coffee with real half & half provided!)
Scenic walkways and water views from every angle
Shuttle service with handsome and friendly driver (park your car once and take advantage of that!)

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, I requested a top floor room but none were available. We stayed on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanOLeary, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Michelle N.,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We work very hard to ensure our guests feel that they made the right decision to stay with us.

We always appreciate guest feedback, both positive and negative. The negative highlights areas we need to work on and positive validates our efforts. Without comments and reviews we are operating on our own observations and perceptions which may not always match our guests. Obviously, it’s the guest’s perception that really matters.

Thank you again for sharing your story. If there are any additional details of your stay that you would like to share please contact me at the hotel any time. I’d be happy to chat with you.

Sincerely,

Dan O’Leary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

There is a lot to like about this waterfront hotel. I only experienced the great hotel desk staff and clean guest rooms, the rest was not offered to me or did not impress. I was staying at this hotel at the recommendation of other travelers from my company who prefer this hotel over nationwide chains. I would have to say this place was only adequate in comparison to average hotels across the country based on how my peers in my company were treated. I had a room that was only over the water during high tide and had no fireplace much less a jacuzzi tub. Given that i live in a landlocked state and work for a company that provides a lot of business to this hotel, and all of my peers had water views AND fireplaces, I was disappointed. I had neither for the same price . They didn't know that I am from the Pacific Northwest, but I was sad to have only a train and restaurant view. I do have to say that the soundproofing from leaving the windows closed is amazing - I had hoped to leave my window open for the sea smell and had to close them in the middle of the night because of the trains. Breakfast was average - but admit my expectations in this area are high. No bill delivered overnight for quick checkout, but checkout was quick nevertheless. If I expect the same room assignment next time, I will book at the national chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanOLeary, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Teresa M,
Thank you for sharing your experience in staying with us recently. I understand that you would be disappointed when certain members of your group may have received complimentary upgrades while you did not.
I can tell you that we do offer complimentary upgrades to individual travelers and groups at times. When we upgrade groups we do try to include all members of the group to avoid the negative feelings you describe. I am sorry that you were not upgraded along with your fellow travelers.
I am thrilled you enjoyed our staff and clean rooms. We are always working to improve our breakfast offerings and service.
I hope you decide to stay with us on your next trip to Tacoma. If you do you are welcome to contact me directly, I’d be happy to help with your reservation and help you get the best room possible for your stay.
Sincerely,
Dan O’Leary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We just love Tacoma, where our son attends University of Puget Sound. There is so much natural beauty in the area, and the hotel sits right on the water. There is a small seafood store/restaurant close by and many restaurants just up the road, and tons to do in the Tacoma downtown area. The staff is really friendly and there is a decent continental breakfast. Silver Cloud Inns have a loyalty program called Silver Rewards if you're interested. My only complaint: no hot tub unless you get one of the jacuzzi rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Port of Tacoma (roughly southeast) are slightly less picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Love Love Love staying here. I travel to this area frequently for business. Always had a good experiance. Love being able to unwind from the day or work while overlooking the harbour. Always courteous and helpful staff, clean rooms and the view....you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront

Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#1 Family Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn - Tacoma Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.