We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tacoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
912 No. I St., Tacoma, WA 98403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Geiger Victorian is one of the nicest Bed and Breakfasts in the Country. Ive stayed at dozens of BnB's and I always come back to this one when in Tacoma. The Art, antiques and linens are second to none. Jane and Skip are amazingly hospitable and you can tell they truly care to take care of you. Their son Paul, who occasionally is there, is a great gardener and has transformed their back yard into one of the most beautiful places to have a good cup of morning coffee or just relax.
Great walking around this location. Places to eat/shop. LOVE IT.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor guest room, sky lights, great air and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a large group at Geiger Victorian for our son's graduation from the University of Puget Sound. I know that we were a handful, but Jane and Skip could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. We enjoyed the lovely rooms, the beautiful back yard, and the delicious breakfasts. This was a perfect experience, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Jane and Skip's long time family home is a great balance of gorgeous architectural decoration and kick-back atmosphere. Everything is clean, pleasing to the eye, and associated with some happy memory that our hosts were very willing to share with us.

The Geiger B&B is in a good location (the Parkway Tavern down the street is amazing and deserves its own accolades) and we were able to cover much of what we wanted to see, on foot. Jane is a former librarian. Skip's artistic talents are in evidence all around the house. The two of them are a loving team who warmly welcomed us into their life, even for a two-day stay.
The suite is lovely; as we lazed on our bed we would chat about the details we found on the ceiling mural above us. Our hosts kept us supplied with beverages, afternoon pastry treats, and sound advice about visiting their city. Their DVD collection was top notch too. Jane and Skip do everything themselves. We appreciated that they keep their business relatively intimate. Without a doubt, anyone that is considering a stay in Tacoma should contact the Geiger Victorian B&B.

Room Tip: We did not see the other sleeping rooms. Ours was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stepping into this B&B is like taking a step back in time. This beautiful turn-of-the-century Victorian has been restored to reflect what must have been it's original beauty. We stayed in the spacious and cozy Virginia Mason room, which is complete with gorgeous hand-painted ceilings, gas fire place, claw foot tub & incredibly comfortable queen size bed.

Jane & Skip, the innkeepers, were perfectly hospitable and generous. They were a wealth of historic information about their house & the city of Tacoma. They also served us some delicious evening tea and cake in our room.

We had a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit & yogurt, egg casserole, roasted potatoes, deliciously moist banana nut muffins.

The Geiger is located within close proximity to the Tacoma waterfront, 6th avenue restaurants and shops, Wright park, and downtown Tacoma.

A wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend get-away or extended vacation!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010 via mobile

This has been a wonderful, intimate experience. The restored 1889 Victorian era house is like stepping into a time warp. Skip and Jane were more than gracious hosts, sharing the stories of their historical land mark home. The rooms are laden with antique furniture and decor making the experience unforgettable. Our private suite had beautiful ceiling murals, a wonderful claw foot tub, and luxurious linens. We were greeted upon arrival with champagne and roses in or room. Then the breakfast in the morning, hosted in a gloriously victorian dining room, was delicious.

A truly amazing experience, thank you Skip and Jane.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I have stayed in many b&b's, but Geiger Victorian was the best. The bed was comfortable, the food was very delicious, but most importantly Skip and Jane were such warm and generous hosts. I would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Our stay at the Geiger Victorian B&B was superb. We were originally only booked and going to stay for one night. However after staying for the first night and having breakfast, we requested to stay a second night. The innkeepers were great to chat with and willing to share their home with us. It is clearly obvious how much time/effort/love they spend on their establishment. If you enjoy looking at history and antiques from an era of the past, then this B&B is highly reccommended. The detailed painted ceilings would even make Michaelangelo blush. Oh, and the breakfast was one of the best we had.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 912 No. I St., Tacoma, WA 98403
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.