We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid If You Can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Tacoma Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Tacoma Mall to your Saves list
Days Inn Tacoma Mall
6802 Tacoma Mall Boulevard, Tacoma, WA 98409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
San Diego
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Avoid If You Can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel/motel is right next to the I-5 freeway, where the car noise is constant. It's pretty run-down and appears to have some undesirable regulars who stand around outside smoking cigarettes till all hours. Still, it's very cheap and somewhat clean but everything is worn down, like the walls, doors, furniture and the carpets which are especially awful and dirty. The sheets are very scratchy and I worried about bedbugs (but proved to be an unwarranted fear).

The staff were polite but seemed somewhat numbed by having to work at a place that is hard to be proud of. The breakfast was meager and unsatisfactory - especially the coffee with powdered creamer. There are a number of better hotels very close to this place and if you can find a room in them you might pay a little more, but it will be worth it. Give this place a pass unless you're desperate for a room (which we were).

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    70
    31
    54
See reviews for
78
47
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Is WA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Appreciate desk clerk accommodating me by allowing me to check in at 12:30 p.m.
Great access from I-5 freeway. Take the 72nd Street exit and go to west side of freeway.
Go north up Tacoma Mall Blvd. I heard no freeway noise inside motel.
Military and senior discounts. I did not check out the pool because it was a a very cool June evening. Good beds. I felt very safe.

Room Tip: I liked first floor in the side far from freeway and with a second door which opened to backside gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Our baseball team stayed there for a weekend baseball tournament and were absolutely shocked by the activites we witnessed taking place at this hotel. There was (blatant) drug use, drug dealing and prostitution and the staff turns a blind eye to it. We witnessed pimps, hookers, drug use and drug dealing inside the hotel and in the parking lot. The hotel staff attempts to keep these activities to one "wing" of the hotel but it was taking place throughout. This is not a safe place to stay. There are no exterior building locks on the building so this riff-raff can come and go at will.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a motel up-dated but retaining much of the charm of older motels - large rooms, much furniture, some outside access from the rooms; yet including fitness facilities, good location off I-5 and near Tacoma Mall. Good beds. Breakfast limited to true "continental" as advertised. Could use up-dated facilities for so-called "hot" breakfast and seating; however, for the quick get-away crowd, the continental was fine.

Room Tip: Motel extends back away from freeway - not noisy for us but some folks may want rooms toward the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean shores
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I booked the hotel based on some of the reviews here and elsewhere. First...I had an emergency which changed my plans. I could either cancel the reservation or stay a very short stay...I asked the staff and was told they could not help in any way...that since I had the "discounted rate" I could either stay or just be charged for the room I could not stay in for more than a few hours. While I know this is policy and such I would hope for a little better customer service though I am not sure that Days Inn is a true chain any longer as there appears to be a great difference from place to place. So...don't count on great customer service. Second...I figured if I was paying for the room anyway I could use the room to freshen up and get a little shut eye before I had to drive. The room...well...the bed appeared clean and not terrible, the room was very old and outdated, smelled bad and had so much noise from the outside I figured I was better off sleeping in the car.
Bottom line...if you are in need of a cheap place to flop that is close off the freeway and you don't care about much other than getting in out of the rain...this is not a bad choice. You will get what you pay for and it is a good price. If you care about anything else...skip it...a few more bucks and a few more minutes in any direction and you will be treated better and get a better nights rest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Days Inn in Tacoma is a decent motel with a decent price. The rooms are clean. I have stayed there several times and I have never experienced any problems. The front desk personnel have always been courteous and helpful. The price is right for an average room. Its also close to many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The room was clean but as stated by another review, there was an odor in the halls. Also a very rude person hanging around the front desk when we checked in that didn't seem to care what anyone else thought, and the desk personel didn't seem to care either. Price was good though and easily acessable from the highway. I didn't see any hookers, but was not looking for them. needless to say we went elsewhere the next night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Tacoma Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tacoma Mall

Address: 6802 Tacoma Mall Boulevard, Tacoma, WA 98409
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Tacoma Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tacoma Mall Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Tacoma Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.