We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacoma Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 East 27th St, Tacoma, WA 98421-2200   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
A TripAdvisor Member
“Tacoma Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We've visited this LaQuinta only two times for a couple nights each trip and found it to be such a welcoming and friendly environment! All staff seem to go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating...you can't help but notice and we so appreciate and value this being so far from home! It is wonderful access for us taking our daughter to college at PSU and the rooms are wonderful. We think it's unusual and lucky to have found such a treasure of a place to call home...away from home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    88
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
61
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had booked my room online 3 weeks in advance to our stay. When I got to the hotel I gave him my name and he couldn't find my reservation. I just had a long trip and was getting kind of grumpy that there was no reservation. I went back out to my vehicle and grabbed my reservation confirmation, upon looking at it I realized that when I booked I hadn't changed the date so my reservation was for 3 weeks prior. I had noticed earlier on my credit card statment that I had got charged for one nights stay but didn't think anything of it. Turns out I had been charged the full nights stay for a no show, which is standard at hotels. Josh at the front desk was very accomodating and refunded my no show charge and got me a room for my three nights stay. I was very thankful when he realized it was my error but refunded me anyway. The hotel staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, the kids loved the outdoor pool, and the price was exactly what I was budgeting for. If we ever come back into the area I will be sure to stop at this hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Use the dining room for breakfast - Good meals. They accomodated twelve for dinner and I enjoyed all the food even the dessert first. The pool provided an afternoon for all ages. We had fun and food with family. Great visit. No problems. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good clean hotel. Booked on line over breakfast whilst on our way to Tacoma. Receptionist very helpful suggested places to visit, even phoned to check we were ok in the room (first time ever had that in the Usa infact anywhere). Good choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a great location to stay at, the staff is very friendly and professional check in went very smooth !!! THIS LA QUINTA IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY UNLIKE THE ONE IN ALBANY , OREGON !!! This location is located with-in walking distance to the EQC and has a pool and lounge-restaurant on-site for those who choose not to go out !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was my first trip to Tacoma (and subsequently Seattle) and I poured over the hotel reviews onTripadvisor trying to decide on a place to stay. My husband and I ultimately ended up choosing La Quinta because of the free parking and breakfast that was offered at a reasonable price. As this was ultimately a shopping/sight-seeing trip, we didn't want to spend an excessive amount of our budget on the hotel. During other trips to the states, we typically stay at a Holiday Inn Express but the Northgate location (which was the cheapest) didn't sound very safe.

This was our first time staying with the La Quinta chain, and highly likely our last. Our initial impression in the lobby was that the property is definitely in need of some updates. The colors in the lobby, and of the bedspread in the rooms, are dated and overly-worn. While I am sure (hope??) the bedspreads are cleaned, they have been around several years too many. The lobby and elevator, in particular, have a musty/stale odor which I fortunately did not notice in our room. The initial room we were given had a king bed, no extra seating and a small side desk. It also faced the train tracks and had a connecting door to the suite beside us. Because of this, we requested a change in room which was dealt with EXTREMELY pleasantly and efficiently by the gentleman at the front desk. (So sorry I have forgotten his name to give kudos!) Our second room was an upgrade with a small sofa and faced the highway. We would strongly suggest that should you decide to stay here, bring ear plugs. Once the air conditioning unit shuts off, it is very difficult to tune out the highway noise.

I am not sure what is used to clean the towels and linens but they are exceptionally stiff and irritating on the skin. The towels were scratchy and on the thin side.

I know that this hotel welcomes dogs, but I am not sure if they have designated pet rooms. My husband was congested during our stay here so we suspect that the room had previously had a dog guest. Both my husband and I had several bites from something on our legs and torsos after our stay. While I do not believe they were from bed bugs (I did research online as to what the bites would look like) I am very sure that they were a result of staying at this hotel. Prior to our stay at La Quinta, we did not have any such bites. Subsequently, we moved to a hotel in Seattle and there were no new bites.

The complimentary breakfast was served in the restaurant which we found to be a little odd. Unlike complimentary breakfasts at the Howard Johnson, or Holiday Inn Express, you are seated by the restaurant staff and brought coffee, water or juice, even though this is all available at the buffet. It felt to us like it was a way to get additional pay (via tips) for the staff. Don't get me wrong, they were exceptionally pleasant, but this did not seem necessary and appeared more like overcompensation for a very limited complimentary breakfast. There were cold boiled eggs, oranges, yogurt, cereal, instant oatmeal, small muffins (blueberry, banana nut, apple cinnamon) and a limited variety of breads (white & brown bread, new york style bagels, plain waffles). I suppose another reason this was offered in the restaurant was so you could order (for a cost) hot foods (e.g. bacon, etc) to supplement your breakfast. Oddly enough, there was a counter with coffee in the main lobby, but I was surprised that they didn't put out a basket off muffins, for those who just wanted to grab something quick to-go.

Overall, I didn't particularly enjoy our stay here and should we return to Tacoma, I would try staying someplace else. I believe the staff and hotel tries to make your stay enjoyable but there are several areas that they need to improve on before I would recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, ask if they have pet-free rooms. Also, it might be better to stay on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle

Address: 1425 East 27th St, Tacoma, WA 98421-2200
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tacoma
#4 Family Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle-Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
La Quinta Inn And Suites Seattle-Tacoma
La Quinta Tacoma
Tacoma La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.