We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duke's Chowder House

Duke's Chowder House
3327 Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98407
253 752–5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 666 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tacoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stopped in Dukes early Saturday evening recently for Dinner and were anticipating a nice quality dinner on the deck overlooking Commencement Bay. The atmosphere was fun, but not too loud, and the views were great. The menu pricing was a little higher than expected, but not out of line for excellent food. The surprise came with the food and drink. We ordered margarita's which were obviously a poor mix with very little liquor. We both ordered halibut and chips on the recommendation of the server, along with a cup of their "famous" chowder. The chips were good, but the fish was overcooked and very, very dry. The chowder had good flavor but was extremely gritty and mine included a 1/2" piece of clam shell. Very disappointing. We felt we could have gone down the street to one of the higher end restaurants and had an excellent meal for the same price, minus the grit and shells. Not to mention the many pubs in town that serve excellent fish and chips for half the price. Overall, a bad experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    71
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A for Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a cozy place to sit on the deck over the water at Duke's! Going here with two of my favorite people for Sun brunch was the BEST. Service outstanding, menu interesting and inviting and the food was quite tasty & attractively presented. Only one glitch...the halibut for my fish & chips was a bit dry. Oh well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Duke's! The macadamia crusted halibut was one of the best I've ever had. The fish and chips isn't bad either. The service was outstanding, as well as the view. I recommend this place for a special evening out with friends!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Service, food, views, they have it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The down to earth staff made us fall in love with this place. Their chowder is better then anything I have ever tasted! It is even better then chowder I tried when we visited Alaska. Their cocktails are also something to write home about. We have never been let down by their servers despite how busy they are- always very personable and helpful. My husband and I love to just sit at the bar and relax here. Such a gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
“No more diet cola at Dukes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

OK as most know, Duke's has very good seafood and great chowders but at dinner last night I discovered that for the last 3 weeks, they have chosen to remove diet cola (pepsi or coke) from their menu. They had an alternative flavored by monk fruit which tasted flat and terrible. There are no other options! I don't know what is in this alternative cola they serve and frankly don't trust drinking this stuff. Their website does not mention this change (still shows Pepsi products) so not sure what is going on but without a decent zero calorie beverage I will avoid them from now on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.