We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Ram on the waterfront!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ram Restaurant & Brewery

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery
3001 Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5306
253-756-7450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 655 restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Chowder, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love the Ram on the waterfront!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Ram on Ruston Way is the best! The service is good, the servers are friendly and the food is consistently yummy! If you can go on a sunny Day, you can sit on the patio for an up front view of the water. It has a sports bar atmosphere but is not overly load. I am always open to lunch or dinner at the Ram on Ruston Way!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    40
    48
    24
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had never been to this restaurant and so it was a surprise how varied the menu was. I had the mahi mahi tacos - and they were excellent - the rice and beans were even better than the tacos! Mahi Mahi Sandwich was a big hit with my brother, who wanted to return for another the next 2 nights we were in town. My husband got the fish and chips - and no complaint on it just being one piece of fish - It was the biggest piece of fish he's ever gotten at a restaurant! Huge! Anyway, we will definitely be back! Also the atmosphere is so relaxing - the outside view is awesome - we couldn't get a table outside because of the crowd, but we got a table on the window and it was just as pleasing a view of the bay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great food, but slow...slow....slow kitchen service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the fourth RAM restaurant I have eaten in, and unlike the Salem, Oregon location, which was excellent, this location matches the other three in very slow kitchen service. 45 minutes to get a burger is not acceptable. Since this is 3 out of 4 locations where slow service is the accepted norm, I have to believe that slow service is a corporate standard. The wait staff service are always friendly, the food is generally very good ( except their horse-radish, cole slaw) and the atmosphere is usually pretty good. The Front desk hostess position at this location was just as dis-organized and un-attentive as the other three locations. Customer service training is really lacking. Someone in Corporate needs to take some action. I doubt I will return to a RAM anytime soon as I cannot spend an hour and half for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfront location, great family dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely dinner on the outside patio on a beautiful sunny day in the PNW. The service was great, my only suggestion would be a little better description of some menu items. I was shocked to cut into my Crabby Patty and discover it was mostly cheese rather than crab - cheese was not mentioned in the description at all. As a lactose intolerant person it was a disappointment. All other food was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Food is good - not great, but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good margaritas, the fish was good, service in the bar was friendly and efficient. The view over the Tacoma waterfront is quite good, especially if you have an outdoor table...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ram Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to The Ram Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ram Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.