We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7414 South Hosmer Street, Tacoma, WA 98408   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here just one night and was flying out of SeaTac the mext morning. This hotel is close to shopping & restaurants, it's right off of I-5 and super close to the Tacoma Mall. My room was large and clean. Check in was a breeze and the person who checked me in was very friendly. It looks like they have updated recently; granite counters, new bedding and new furniture in the sitting area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear ladybugg73,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our accommodations and services. Your comments were very kind. You are so right; we are very convenient to the I-5, the Tacoma Mall, shopping and numerous restaurants. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tacoma. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
51
25
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Employees are outstanding when it comes to customer service. We have been going here for years as it is a centrally located place for my family. The desk clerk J.J. we met on our first trip down. There have been years between trips and even tho, she always remembers us. She is not the only outstanding employee. Most will do anything they can to make your stay more enjoyable. Whenever we are traveling in this area, we stop here. The breakfast is great, and the value is great. It is a real deal with wonderful people. Who can ask for more???

Room Tip: We prefer the larger rooms with a sitting area for family when they come in. That way they don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear trutrekker,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service during your recent stay at the Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma.

It is always gratifying to know that our performance is appreciated. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. Thank you for choosing Shilo Inn Tacoma while visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is not as expensive as the Hampton Inn but the people here are wonderful. I once had to borrow to charge my phone luckily the front desk clerk was nice enough to let me borrow hers. The rooms themselves are decent enough for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Judith ~

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our service and accommodations during your stay. We consider are dedicated employees our most valuable asset. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Shilo Inn & Suites the next time you are in Tacoma. Best wishes for the New Year to you and yours.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the first review I have ever written for a hotel because I think it is worth warning people that this place is a toxic black mold health hazard! Anybody that knows about toxic black mold knows that it will kill you. I didn't really notice it until I was in the bathroom giving my son a bath. My nose was extremely itchy. I know when my nose is irritated there is black mold floating around so I started searching for it. Well of course it was painted over. You could tell on the ceiling and beside the toilet black mold was peeking through the paint, plus there was black mold was all over the white sprinkler unit inside there. I went to go check the windows and sure enough there was black mold just lining the windows peeking through the paint. It's obvious the hotel staff was trying to cover it with paint. Later on in the day we go in the pool area and hot tob. My eyes and nose were getting extremely itchy. I look at the ceiling and sure enough black mold was covering the vents and ceiling in patches. I had to get out of there. Could not breathe. The worse part is I have children. I have a 2 year old and a 3 month old sleeping in there and I could not help but feel guilty letting them sleep in there. It was late so had no choice really as we were tired we had to crash. Anyways, I will not be going back here anymore. Do not bring your children here it is so disgusting!

Room Tip: Go to a clean hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sheri B,

I sincerely apologize for the experience you encountered during your travels to Tacoma. I’ve attempted to identify you so I may contact you directly, however I do not find anyone by the name of Sheri B from Yakima having stayed with the Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma. I would like to discuss this situation with you personally at your convenience. I can be reached at 253.475.4020. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to the opportunity to discuss the situation with you.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 10 days in Washington and stayed at Hilton Garden Inn, Homewood Suites, and B&Bs...The Shilo Inn was probably the best value of all. Clean room with places to put suitcases. Convenient location near restaurants. The breakfast was fine although the breakfast area was a bit crowded at first. For the price ~$75, this was a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Bill K,

I appreciate you taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent stay at the Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma. I hope you will be able to visit with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room I stayed in was spacious, clean, and convenient. There is coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, and wifi. TV is the old CRT type but works fine for me. Hotel is located next to I-5 but noise level is minimal. Front desk staff is friendly. Free continental breakfast. Large parking lot available for hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
digipro78,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma. We are the midst of a number of upgrades; we recently upgraded to new pillow top beds and will be installing new flat screen TVs and armoires in the near future. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just wanted to say something about amanda who works at shilo inn. She is always very friendly and helpful. I stay there frequently when i'm in town for work. It is a very nice hotel and the hot tub is realxing after a hard days work. Amanda and all the others treat me well and make me feel welcomed. Rex C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Roxanne C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit to the Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma.
We consider dedicated and outstanding staff members like Amanda our most valuable asset. She was very pleased that you acknowledge her efforts. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to your next visit to Tacoma.

Sincerely,

Jo Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma

Address: 7414 South Hosmer Street, Tacoma, WA 98408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.