We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Tacoma to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8402 S Hosmer, Tacoma, WA 98444 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Vancouver
2 reviews
“January 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fair conditions. The vent over the shower was not positioned in place. When the vent fan was turned on the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. There was a potato chip on the floor near the side table, and I did not have chips in my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    42
    16
    36
See reviews for
58
34
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma for a business trip last December. The location was very nice, very easy access on and off freeway.

When you first walk in, the lobby is very inviting and well furnished. The front desk staff were very friendly and nice. The service overall during my stay was great.

I enjoyed the stay overall. The price is good and the stay is comfortable. I would definitely go back for my next trip to Tacoma.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Housekeeping walks around with walkies blaring in the hallway, other staff and guests will have long conversations in front of guest rooms, and worst of all, we were put in a room next to stairs that they were re-carpeting! All 3 were great ways to be woken up too early and we had one of each per day. Do some planning on booking rooms and some training on working in someones home. Thanks for the not needed edge on the business trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visited there for a family trip a few weeks ago and really enjoyed the stay.
It was very convenient because the hotel was located right next to a freeway but I was very surprise that the room was very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. it was a good size for 3 of us. It also had a fridge and microwave in the room which was a plus. The Bed was clean and comfortable big enough for two people to sleep on (I had two queen bed).

My family especially enjoyed the indoor pool. They also had jacuzzi. The pool was big too.
I wish they had more options in their breakfast menu, it was a bit limited. They had waffles, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stay here during my business travels and I have no complaints. The location is very easily accessible from the freeway. The Hotel is safe, comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. They seem to have updated their interior decor with new linens, and the cleanliness of the hotel is always above and beyond my expectations. They offer free breakfast which is a PLUS when I need to rush to a meeting. Thanks for making it easy guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I travel to the Tacoma area often to visit my daughter while in college, this was my first stay at the Red Lion Hotel. Let me tell you I've been missing out when I've stayed at other places, this is now the only place I will stay! From the staff to the pool/hot tub, everything was just above and beyond. On my stay there was what appeared to be renovations going on, and I was informed by the front desk that new carpet was going down in the hallways, it looked beautiful very nice pick! Keep up the great work Red Lion, I will be back next month.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Groton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The front desk Manager, Dora, could not have been more helpful, nor personable. She and her staff were courteous and helpful in every instance - from offering directions to advise on local eateries and shopping. The front lobby housekeeper, Maria, was also wonderful; she ran the breakfast area impeccably, kept the front reception area spotless and was extremely courteous.
THANK YOU Red Lion for a wonderful stay! I will definitely visit your hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Address: 8402 S Hosmer, Tacoma, WA 98444 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, extended continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.