We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Last Hotel Standing in Downtown Tacoma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murano to your Saves list
Hotel Murano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Last Hotel Standing in Downtown Tacoma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel, located in the heart of was once the bustling town of Tacoma. The area is safe, but there is a four block section along Pacific Avenue (the main drag) where there are 3 banks, one Starbucks, and 199 empty storefronts. Definitely, I worry about this hotel being able to maintain its quality while trying to survive in an area hit hard by the economy.

The rooms are clean, luxuriously comfortable, with very unique art in the hallways, public areas, and the rooms. Up high, one can view Commencement Bay. The windows open so a nice breeze is available during the night. (A nice amenity!) The prices are all over the board, so be sure to bargain with the reservation clerk. I checked the prices of a few fellow travelers -- and the prices ranged from $113 to $183 per night in just one elevator load of guests.

This is the best hotel in the proximity of Point Defiance Park, so if you are in town for a wedding, definitely a good host hotel for you. Along Ruston Way, you will find at least five seafood restaurants worth tasting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    228
    63
    25
    18
See reviews for
133
298
73
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

What an amazing hotel. Every floor highlights a famous glass artist and the lobby is filled with art. The room was comfortable and had a good view. The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant is attractive but the breakfast was not up to the level of the decor.
We loved the hotel and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Murano was absolutely beautiful. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very pretty. The hotel bed is by far the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! During my stay I arranged for a shuttle bus to take me to Tacoma airport early on a Sunday morning. The shuttle came 30 mins earlier than scheduled and I missed it by 20 minutes. The bell captain Dale was beyond helpful. This gentleman went out of way to make sure I got to the airport to catch my flight. Far beyond the call of his duties. I was beyond impressed by his genuine concern. Kudos to Dale the Bell Captain! The Murano seems just to beautiful to be in a little city like Tacoma! Classy and gorgeous inside and out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassHotel, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent visit to the Hotel Murano. I am very pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding Dale, our bell captain. Comments like yours are what employees like Dale love to receive. He loves his job.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a small, and lovely boutique hotel. The theme is glass art, and it is all around you. There are beautiful glass pieces in the lobby and pictures in each room. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again. The dining area had large booths overlooking the view, and it was spectacular the night we stayed there. The bathroom countertop is limited, so if we were staying longer, I'd need more space. But, we were there one night and it worked out quite well. Loveley.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Imagine this. You are mid-30s and in the military. You've been at training for over a month where you are not allowed any alcohol for the duration and you are going to a war zone in four days where again you will be allowed no alcohol. You are given a one day pass and at 10am in the morning on a weekday all you want is a mimosa (and then apple martini, long island ice tea, vodka straight...) with 5 of your newest girlfriends. Well this is the only place in downtown Tacoma that we could find that served early in the morning. The service was great, as was the breakfast. The fourth floor view over the river and museum was heavenly. And this restaurant will for always have a special place in my. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed for a night this past weekend on the way to Seattle for a last minute trip. Have stayed at their sister hotel in Portland and have had multiple stays at W in Seattle. Was looking for something that compared. While the staff was very nice, the room was a bit small and it felt/looked like a renovated Days Inn. I would give high marks to the furnishings and bedding. I was expecting a little more. Not sure I would stay again. It felt average.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassHotel, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Murano. We appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel.

I am disappointed to learn of your opinion of the guest room you stayed in. We went through a complete renovation of the entire building that finished in March of 2008. I apologize that the room did not appeal to your taste.

I would be happy to assist with future travels to the Tacoma area. My hope is that we could find another room that might appeal more to your needs.

I can be contacted directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Mark Van Cooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The Hotel Murano is focused on glass artists from all over the world....the ambience is amazing. Restaurant excellent. I bid on price line (I never bid below a 3 star) and hit the jack pot with this one...would pay full price for sure! Each floor has a different theme. Great service. Beds are super comfy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Family Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murano 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Murano is a glass-filled downtown Tacoma hotel, centrally located amongst a number of restaurants, bars, museums and more. When you enter the Hotel Murano, a world-class art collection greets you at the lobby. You notice that same commitment to form extends into every feature of this Tacoma Hotel. Hotel Murano features 50 glass artists and their masterpieces from all over the world, including Greek artist Costas Varotsos and Murano artist Massimo Micheluzzi. In addition, the hotel specializes in personalized guest relationships, ensuring every business or leisure traveler feels at home and has everything one could possibly need or desire. We are also proud to be a pet friendly hotel. Located in downtown Tacoma, the hotel is perfectly situated as a home base while guests visit local businesses, restaurants, the Museum of Glass, the Tacoma Art Museum and the Washington State History Museum. A stay at this hotel may just ignite that artistic spirit within you.Hotel Murano is a creation by Provenance Hotels, a company that specializes in hotels with deeply integrated art themes, that opened in 2008. Since then, the hotel has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally by multiple publications, including Conde Nast Traveler United Kingdom, USA Today, Elle Greece and Travel + Leisure. In 2010, it made the Conde Nast Traveler's (United States) Gold list and ranked No. 6 in the Top 100 Hotels in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.