We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carol's Review of hotel Murano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murano to your Saves list
Hotel Murano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Trip Advisor!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fletcher, North Carolina
1 review
“Carol's Review of hotel Murano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff in the hotel were excellent. I always had fresh towels and linens, and if I needed anything they were very accommodating. I enjoyed the art work , the meeting rooms, the gift shop and the restaurants. The luggage handlers were prompt and always available to lend a helping hand. I hope I get to go back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We also hope you get to come back here very soon, Carol! This review just made our day. I'm so glad everything—from our staff to our fun ambiance—exceeded your expectations.

Next time you're in Tacoma, our door is always open!

All the best,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    289
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
171
358
82
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just miles above the rest of tacoma, literally and otherwise. Love the art, the ambience, the space in the really cool rooms and the bar/restaurant offer really fun alternatives to hotel norms. The fries and gravy dish at Bite restaurant is so good, it's actually worth stopping off just for that!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are amazing. High floors, north and south, have exceptional views of the area. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
This review is "miles above" the rest! Thanks for sharing your experience with us. From our extensive art collection to our fun ambiance, you really captured the essence of our hotel! We hope to see you back here very soon.

Until then,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

HM consistently provides great service & quality accommodations. Rooms are comfortable & stylish. Restaurant food & service is great. Everyone in our diverse family feels welcome & pampered here. We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We're honored you think we are a "gem" in Tacoma! From our comfy and stylish rooms to our attentive service, you really captured what we're all about. We look forward to your return!

Until then,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. This hotel has been completely redesigned and decorated.
The lobby and the restaurant BITES were really beautiful. The entire staff was the best without being gratuitous. We highly recommend having your breakfast at BITES----extraordinary!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for spreading the word about us, Brenda! We always want our guests to have a truly memorable stay with us, so it sounds like we've left quite an impression on you. I'm glad you enjoyed BITE, as well! We look forward to having you back here soon.

Be well,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were in town for a family wedding and spent five days in the Murano. Our stay could not have been better. The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent and the staff is exceptional. The room was very clean and well appointed with very fast housekeeping daily. All of our needs were met. I would highly recommend this hotel for a single night or long term stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We're honored that you chose the Murano for your stay in town during the wedding, Ronald.

You really highlight all of the aspects that we're proud of, especially the tremendous efforts put forth by our housekeeping staff each and every day, and I hope you'll find yourself back this way soon.

Thank you for the very kind words.

Best regards,

Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in Tacoma over the weekend to drop off our son at The University of Puget Sound. What started out as an extremely difficult time was made much easier by having such a warm and welcoming place to stay. The room exceeded our expectations and the beautiful art pieces throughout the hotel were just a small sample of what the area has to offer. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we'll be back soon for every home football game!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It was our pleasure to show you a warm welcome to Tacoma! Thanks for staying with us, and for the lovely review. We can't wait to have you back!

Regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our son got married in Tacoma in mid-August, and we hosted our rehearsal dinner at the Hotel Murano. Everything was perfect - could not have been better. Buffet style, the hot foods were hot and perfectly prepared, the cold foods were chilled and presented artistically. We were able to relax and enjoy the evening. The wedding guests from out of town stayed at the Hotel Murano - and the staff made it a wonderful trip for everyone. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Murano.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Betsy, thanks for being such a big advocate of our hotel on both Yelp and TripAdvisor! It's always wonderful to hear back from our guests.

I'm glad we could help you celebrate such a special occasion. I said it before and I'll say it again—next time you and your family need a getaway, we're here for you!

Be well,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Family Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murano 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Murano is a glass-filled downtown Tacoma hotel, centrally located amongst a number of restaurants, bars, museums and more. When you enter the Hotel Murano, a world-class art collection greets you at the lobby. You notice that same commitment to form extends into every feature of this Tacoma Hotel. Hotel Murano features 50 glass artists and their masterpieces from all over the world, including Greek artist Costas Varotsos and Murano artist Massimo Micheluzzi. In addition, the hotel specializes in personalized guest relationships, ensuring every business or leisure traveler feels at home and has everything one could possibly need or desire. We are also proud to be a pet friendly hotel. Located in downtown Tacoma, the hotel is perfectly situated as a home base while guests visit local businesses, restaurants, the Museum of Glass, the Tacoma Art Museum and the Washington State History Museum. A stay at this hotel may just ignite that artistic spirit within you.Hotel Murano is a creation by Provenance Hotels, a company that specializes in hotels with deeply integrated art themes, that opened in 2008. Since then, the hotel has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally by multiple publications, including Conde Nast Traveler United Kingdom, USA Today, Elle Greece and Travel + Leisure. In 2010, it made the Conde Nast Traveler's (United States) Gold list and ranked No. 6 in the Top 100 Hotels in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.