We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Tacoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murano to your Saves list
Hotel Murano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Trip Advisor!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Tacoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The views from this property cannot be beat in Tacoma. The hotel lacks a swimming pool. A rooftop terrace would be a great idea! But the fitness center is nice and the surrounding streets are great for an early morning run. The room was cozy with a nice couch and plenty of windows. The hotel has a glass blowing theme and each floor is dedicated to a different artist and type of glass art.

Room Tip: Higher the better with views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate this wonderful feedback!

The fact that you think we "can't be beat" is very high praise.

I'll definitely take note of your rooftop terrace idea —we have some "space" up there for future consideration and we'll keep your suggestion in mind.

I'm glad you got to take advantage of our fitness center, too.

Next time you're back in Tacoma, we'd love for you to stop by and enjoy the gorgeous view!

Until then,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    287
    86
    30
    18
See reviews for
171
357
82
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camano Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent service, Hotel staff was very quick in the check in and enough at the desk to take care of any rush and with a smile. It was an enjoyable stay. We are in Tacoma every year and this was the first time at the Murrano. Being close to the Tacoma Dome was an extra. The food in the resturant was very good but a little on the pricey side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Gene, thank you for this 5-star review! We're so glad you had a great time. From our service with a smile to our convenient location, we always want our guests to feel taken care of.

When you come back for your yearly trip, our door is always open!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel staff is very friendly. Glass sculptures permeate the facility and can be found on every floor - very nice touch and really adds interest to the site. Hotel dining is fairly average however the wait staff was very attentive. The bell hops were knowledgeable and efficient. Room was clean and well maintained, somewhat European, in that the room was a bit small (plan accordingly). An iPod enabled radio was available and you can order pillows to your liking. The immediate vicinity has a number of restaurants none of which were especially exceptional. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Tacoma Convention Center so it is very convenient for attending that facility.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a corner room, they are slightly larger and if you get an upper floor you will ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for this helpful feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our glass art collection— we love it when our guests get a chance to explore the artwork on each floor.

I appreciate you mentioning our helpful staff, too. Above all, we want you to feel taken care of, so it sounds like we've done our job!

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. Our door is always open!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tacoma was once the equal of seattle and Portland. No longer. Not even close. But somehow, Tacoma has the classiest, most interesting, in my mind, the finest hotel in the Pacific Northwest. The Hotel Murano in Tacoma is a treasure. It is truly world-class. Yes, the rooms are very nice, the beds and linens are very fine top quality. The public spaces, the cool lounge off the lobby, the highly efficient front desk staff, the front door bellman, all make this a top rated hotel. But what makes the Murano so special is the theme of glass art. Each floor is devoted to some glass artist, with a sample of his/her work encased in a glass box. While they don't promote the idea, quite a few guests will tour the exhibit by moving from floor to floor to admire the artwork, and read the inscriptions. My most recent stay, coming up from Portland, I had my choice of staying in Olympia, or making it to Seattle. Easy decision -- stop at the Murano. On a previous occasion, attending a 2 day business gathering, typically held near SeaTac Airport. Instead they chose to do it at the Murano, yes a little extra distance to Tacoma, but everybody thought it was really worth it. The chance to stay at an extraordinary hotel. I would add that despite its beauty, the Murano is very comfortable for people with families, who are on the more casual side, no problem. And the rate was very reasonable I thought. Instead of $129 at a Ramada, on a recent Saturday night, the Murano was $156. Really well worth it for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: I have been on higher floors and lower floors and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you so very much for your kind remarks and thoughtful review, please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is a far much improved Hotel since they changed from the Sheraton management.The lobby is art filled as each floor is .Each floor tributes a different artist with their work of art as well as pictures of them doing their art. The check in procedure was seamless and the elevator requires a swipe of the room the key which is a nice level of security. The room was a decent size , the king mattress was decent and the bed coverings were very good but not great .The restaurant was very good a tad pricey for dinner but average for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
While it's wonderful you think we've improved under new management, it's a shame that your experience with us was just "good not great." We'd love to know what we could improve to make sure we really "wow" you next time!

What about your bed covers would you change? As far as our restaurant goes, we like to think of BITE as a step above your typical hotel restaurant experience. We use very fresh and high quality ingredients, so we feel like the quality of our food is an accurate reflection of our prices. Please let me know if you want to discuss this some more!

All and all, we're glad you had an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Be well,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were only in Tacoma for one night (July 4th) but our stay was great. Tacoma was very quiet so it was easy to get to and park - not sure about a normal day. We asked at the desk where we could watch the fireworks from and were told that we didn't need to worry about that as our room overlooked them! This was fantastic! They also gave us a code so we could have free wifi which you normally have to pay for - amazing! Parking was also very easy (either self or valet). The lobby was gorgeous with lots of great art and displays. There are also glass displays on every floor. Our room was large and the bathroom was very good. It's close to the museums and to the main roads in and out of Tacoma. We got on the I5 very easily the next morning when we were leaving. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tacoma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for this marvelous review! We always want our guests to have a very memorable experience with us, so the fact that you had a "fantastic" stay is music to our ears!

We're glad you took the time to check out our art collection and modern decor. Thanks for mentioning our convenient location downtown, as well!

Next time you need a getaway, our door is always open!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel Murano. Nice modern hotel with glass exhibits on every floor. Feels like you're staying in a gallery rather than a hotel. Hotel is within walking distance to convention center and the glass museum. Hotel also has a hair salon and a spa. Rooms are a nice size, with modern bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It only takes one night to see how unique we really are!

We're so glad you enjoyed our extensive art collection, fun amenities and convenient location.

We hope you'll come back and stay with us for a longer period of time— there's much more of this city to explore!

Warm regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Family Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murano 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Murano is a glass-filled downtown Tacoma hotel, centrally located amongst a number of restaurants, bars, museums and more. When you enter the Hotel Murano, a world-class art collection greets you at the lobby. You notice that same commitment to form extends into every feature of this Tacoma Hotel. Hotel Murano features 50 glass artists and their masterpieces from all over the world, including Greek artist Costas Varotsos and Murano artist Massimo Micheluzzi. In addition, the hotel specializes in personalized guest relationships, ensuring every business or leisure traveler feels at home and has everything one could possibly need or desire. We are also proud to be a pet friendly hotel. Located in downtown Tacoma, the hotel is perfectly situated as a home base while guests visit local businesses, restaurants, the Museum of Glass, the Tacoma Art Museum and the Washington State History Museum. A stay at this hotel may just ignite that artistic spirit within you.Hotel Murano is a creation by Provenance Hotels, a company that specializes in hotels with deeply integrated art themes, that opened in 2008. Since then, the hotel has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally by multiple publications, including Conde Nast Traveler United Kingdom, USA Today, Elle Greece and Travel + Leisure. In 2010, it made the Conde Nast Traveler's (United States) Gold list and ranked No. 6 in the Top 100 Hotels in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.