We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the classiest hotel in the Pacific Northwest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murano to your Saves list
Hotel Murano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe the classiest hotel in the Pacific Northwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tacoma was once the equal of seattle and Portland. No longer. Not even close. But somehow, Tacoma has the classiest, most interesting, in my mind, the finest hotel in the Pacific Northwest. The Hotel Murano in Tacoma is a treasure. It is truly world-class. Yes, the rooms are very nice, the beds and linens are very fine top quality. The public spaces, the cool lounge off the lobby, the highly efficient front desk staff, the front door bellman, all make this a top rated hotel. But what makes the Murano so special is the theme of glass art. Each floor is devoted to some glass artist, with a sample of his/her work encased in a glass box. While they don't promote the idea, quite a few guests will tour the exhibit by moving from floor to floor to admire the artwork, and read the inscriptions. My most recent stay, coming up from Portland, I had my choice of staying in Olympia, or making it to Seattle. Easy decision -- stop at the Murano. On a previous occasion, attending a 2 day business gathering, typically held near SeaTac Airport. Instead they chose to do it at the Murano, yes a little extra distance to Tacoma, but everybody thought it was really worth it. The chance to stay at an extraordinary hotel. I would add that despite its beauty, the Murano is very comfortable for people with families, who are on the more casual side, no problem. And the rate was very reasonable I thought. Instead of $129 at a Ramada, on a recent Saturday night, the Murano was $156. Really well worth it for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: I have been on higher floors and lower floors and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    228
    63
    25
    18
See reviews for
134
298
73
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is a far much improved Hotel since they changed from the Sheraton management.The lobby is art filled as each floor is .Each floor tributes a different artist with their work of art as well as pictures of them doing their art. The check in procedure was seamless and the elevator requires a swipe of the room the key which is a nice level of security. The room was a decent size , the king mattress was decent and the bed coverings were very good but not great .The restaurant was very good a tad pricey for dinner but average for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
While it's wonderful you think we've improved under new management, it's a shame that your experience with us was just "good not great." We'd love to know what we could improve to make sure we really "wow" you next time!

What about your bed covers would you change? As far as our restaurant goes, we like to think of BITE as a step above your typical hotel restaurant experience. We use very fresh and high quality ingredients, so we feel like the quality of our food is an accurate reflection of our prices. Please let me know if you want to discuss this some more!

All and all, we're glad you had an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Be well,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were only in Tacoma for one night (July 4th) but our stay was great. Tacoma was very quiet so it was easy to get to and park - not sure about a normal day. We asked at the desk where we could watch the fireworks from and were told that we didn't need to worry about that as our room overlooked them! This was fantastic! They also gave us a code so we could have free wifi which you normally have to pay for - amazing! Parking was also very easy (either self or valet). The lobby was gorgeous with lots of great art and displays. There are also glass displays on every floor. Our room was large and the bathroom was very good. It's close to the museums and to the main roads in and out of Tacoma. We got on the I5 very easily the next morning when we were leaving. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tacoma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for this marvelous review! We always want our guests to have a very memorable experience with us, so the fact that you had a "fantastic" stay is music to our ears!

We're glad you took the time to check out our art collection and modern decor. Thanks for mentioning our convenient location downtown, as well!

Next time you need a getaway, our door is always open!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel Murano. Nice modern hotel with glass exhibits on every floor. Feels like you're staying in a gallery rather than a hotel. Hotel is within walking distance to convention center and the glass museum. Hotel also has a hair salon and a spa. Rooms are a nice size, with modern bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It only takes one night to see how unique we really are!

We're so glad you enjoyed our extensive art collection, fun amenities and convenient location.

We hope you'll come back and stay with us for a longer period of time— there's much more of this city to explore!

Warm regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the best hotel in Tacoma; I attended a convention and compared notes with those staying at other hotels. The Murano is a property that will meet the needs of business or pleasure travelers. Every floor is devoted to a "glass artist" with a display on each floor. The displays were interesting. The rooms are excellent and clean; and their food is good and reasonable considering the quality of the food. Many rooms have a view of Mt Rainer if it is not hidden by the clouds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for this feedback! We're so glad you had a great experience. Whether you're just staying a few days for business or taking a week's vacation with your family, we do our best to accommodate each and every one of our guests.

Thanks for mentioning our extensive art collection— we love it when our guests take the time to explore each floor! Next time you need a place to stay in Tacoma (whether it's business or pleasure), please keep us in mind!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber Springs, AR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staying at the Murano Hotel is like staying in an art gallery. Both the common areas and the individual rooms are decorated with beautiful contemporary art. The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable, but the queen bed in our room caused us to roll towards the middle. Would suggest a "king" if two people are to occupy one bed.

Self-parking is $15/night and is adjacent to the hotel. Only had a late night snack at the restaurant, but the service was excellent.

If you like contemporary art, you have to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I appreciate this great feedback! Thank you for mentioning our extensive art collection— we love it when our guests get a chance to really explore our hotel.

While it's wonderful you found your bed to be comfortable, I'm sorry that it caused you to roll toward the middle! This is the first time I'm hearing about this issue, but I'll definitely look into it for you. Thanks for bringing that to our attention.

We hope you will be able to stay with us again! We'd love to impress you even more next time.

Warm regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here on the weekend for a reunion that was located down the street so this hotel was very convenient. This hotel is modern, hip and has a lot of glass work all over. The rooms are on the small side but stocked with amenities. My room had a honor bar, a snack honor bar, great Italian coffee and they provided nice wine glasses in case you brought your own. The bed was very comfortable. My room had a great view of Mt. Rainier and Tacoma. The hotel is located just a block away from restaurants, local bars, Tacoma Museum and fine dining. There are many options in the area if you are looking at being close to all that downtown Tacoma offers. The hotel offers 24 hour room service and the bar looked fun although I did not have time to try it. Also a day spa.

Room Tip: Ask for high room away from elevators and vending. You will have a really quiet room with little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay, and I am glad you had the opportunity to check out our artwork. Our hotel displays the work of 45 artists from 6 continents, so we love it when our guests take the time to truly look around!

We do our best to make our guests feel at home, so it's wonderful you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed our food.

That being said, it's a shame you found your room to be a little on the small side. Just so you know— we have many different options when it comes to room size, and we'd love to help you find one that's more spacious next time!

I'm glad you took advantage of our great downtown location, too. All and all, it sounds like you had a great stay. Please come back and see us soon— another fun getaway awaits!

Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Family Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murano 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Murano is a glass-filled downtown Tacoma hotel, centrally located amongst a number of restaurants, bars, museums and more. When you enter the Hotel Murano, a world-class art collection greets you at the lobby. You notice that same commitment to form extends into every feature of this Tacoma Hotel. Hotel Murano features 50 glass artists and their masterpieces from all over the world, including Greek artist Costas Varotsos and Murano artist Massimo Micheluzzi. In addition, the hotel specializes in personalized guest relationships, ensuring every business or leisure traveler feels at home and has everything one could possibly need or desire. We are also proud to be a pet friendly hotel. Located in downtown Tacoma, the hotel is perfectly situated as a home base while guests visit local businesses, restaurants, the Museum of Glass, the Tacoma Art Museum and the Washington State History Museum. A stay at this hotel may just ignite that artistic spirit within you.Hotel Murano is a creation by Provenance Hotels, a company that specializes in hotels with deeply integrated art themes, that opened in 2008. Since then, the hotel has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally by multiple publications, including Conde Nast Traveler United Kingdom, USA Today, Elle Greece and Travel + Leisure. In 2010, it made the Conde Nast Traveler's (United States) Gold list and ranked No. 6 in the Top 100 Hotels in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.