We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gift shop, service, staff, amenities, decor - ALL amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Murano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Tacoma
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Gift shop, service, staff, amenities, decor - ALL amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am a business traveler, traveling Monday through Thursday, for most of my professional life. I've seen hundreds of hotel rooms and dozens of hotels, and was compelled to actually write a review of a hotel (for the first time ever!) because of my experience at the Hotel Murano.

The Hotel: In a word - stunning. And gorgeous. And unique. And the ultimate showcase of local and international artists. The decor is in stark contrast to the vast majority of hotels in which I've stayed, and rivals the decor that W hotels are so famous for. Each floor features a different glass artist, and the meeting rooms, hallways, lobby and hotel rooms are littered with gorgeous treasures and artifacts from varying artists. The rooms themselves are unique, and offer a much appreciated pop of colour in an otherwise bland world of business travel.

The hotel is in a prime location, within walking distance of all of Tacoma's little treasures - AMAZING museums, shopping, galleries and restaurants/bars are within blocks.

The Staff: Outstanding. From front desk, to managers, to cleaning staff, to restaurant servers and bartenders, to the gift shop, and the bell staff - everyone is friendly, professional, and willing to go the extra mile. The last time I received service from a staff that was this knowledgeable and friendly was when I visited Wisconsin over a year ago! :)

The Gift Shop: Called "Creative Forces Gifts & Sundries", this gift shop alone is worth a visit, even if you are not staying at the hotel. Run by a local artist, she has assembled an incredibly beautiful and unique collection of treasures made by other local artists. I visited all of the local museums in the months I spent in Tacoma for work, and the museum gift shops/other local shops pale in comparison to this one. Hands down, Creative Forces has 1) the best collection of local art (not just glass art!), and 2) is the best hotel gift shop I've ever visited, and 3) the owner is an artist herself. Her appreciation and understanding of the craft is evident - go pay her a visit!

The Restaurant: Surprisingly inspired, with attention to detail and a focus on serving what's local and in season. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour and creativity of the menu. Though the menu is a tad on the expensive side, the food is consistently good, and the restaurant does offer a cosy private lounge and/or a view of Mt. Rainier.

All in, the Hotel Murano is particularly memorable (to be honest? Likely the best) hotel experience I've had. Period. The combination of service, decor, and people makes it stand out among the blur and fog of years of business travel. It really is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
This review, in a word — stunning! Thank you for this detailed and thoughtful feedback. We are so thrilled you had such an all-around great experience with us. From the decor to our restaurant to our gift shop, you knocked it out of the park! Even though we like to think of ourselves as a 'modern' hotel, we still want our guests to feel at home. I appreciate you mentioning that we 'go the extra mile' for our guests — your happiness is always our top priority. Next time you want to head down from Canada for another relaxing getaway, we'd love for you to stay at our place!

Warm regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    192
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
116
246
66
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, OR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a great hotel located in the central part of Tacoma. It is an excellent place for business travelers to stay. The hotel pays attention to every detail -- beautiful rooms, a little goodie basket, and many other things that just make you feel comfortable. The BITE restaurant has great food and for breakfast I has the Pacific Frittata -- a wonderful combination of dungeness crab, crimini mushrooms, asparagus, fontina cheese, and skillet browned potatoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Rob,
You just knocked it out of the park with this review! Thanks for mentioning that we pay attention to every detail — we want our guests to feel as comfortable as possible when they stay with us. While we pride ourselves on being a 'modern' hotel, we still want you to feel at home! I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast at BITE, too. How great is that Pacific Frittata? That one is a personal favorite of mine. One bite and you're hooked! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

All the best,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Murano to get Married. There isn't much to say that others haven't already said about this hotel. Our room was on the 23rd floor with beautiful views of Puget Sound and of the City. The room was nicely appointed with a big comfy down comforter and is decorated with artwork sketches from the artist assigned to your floor. We enjoyed the Lobby Bar with Kristy taking care of our every need, (Appetizers at the bar equal the food from Bite Restaurant) each day we actually wanted to visit the Lobby Bar because Kristy sews the web for travelers by engaging patrons with warmth and hospitality. We ate at Bite often not just for convenience but the food is amazing our favorites were the Kobe burger and they make a killer grilled cheese and tomato soup. A special and memorable touch came from a server Britannia who had served us previously and arrived to our table with desert to congratulate us on our Nuptials as well as the manager and others. This is one Hotel Staff that bests any Resort or high end Hotel we've ever stayed at.

Tacoma is wonderful to explore with awesome restaurants and bars as well as antique shops, a Theatre district and your selection of Coffee Houses to suit any taste. The investment in infrastructure is apparent everywhere you go in Tacoma. We felt safe wherever we ventured and used the "Link" often and it's free, clean and has a Security Guard on every train. We visited Seattle which is wonderful in its own but for a true Washington Experience Tacoma and Murano was the place for us. We thank the Hotel Murano and the people of Tacoma for giving us more than we could've ever wished for. Jim and Shawn

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors to get some awesome views of the Sound and surrounding mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
You are so very welcome! What a glowing review. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a shout out. We appreciate you not only complimenting our hotel but the city of Tacoma as well! It's an amazing city with a rich cultural presence. From your comfy room to your delicious meals at BITE, I'm so glad we could start your marriage off right. We can't tell you how honored we are that you chose us for your wedding destination, and it sounds like we didn't disappoint! I hope you and your spouse are doing well. Please come back and see us any time you want to make some more wonderful memories.

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our second trip to this hotel and it was as stunning as I remembered. The glass artwork is gorgeous and it is displayed everywhere. If you can, go to each floor and you will see a display of an artists works along with information about them. The rooms are nicely decorated and have a "goodie basket" of treats, for a charge of course. The staff was very helpful, the front desk quickly changed our room when we asked due to loud neighbors, we were not going to ask but the bartender would not let us be disappointed by something they could change. How awesome! Thanks for a great time Hotel Murano. By the way, Bite resturant is absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for giving us this fabulous feedback. I'm glad we were as 'stunning' as you remembered! We're so fortunate to have such an extensive artwork collection, so I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our decor. I'm so sorry about your noisy neighbors — but I'm glad that we could accommodate you when it came to changing rooms. Next time you need a getaway or are craving a bite at BITE, please come by and see us!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

All the traveling I do, I like the little extra small things at a hotel that "shouts" we thought about you. First, the bathroom light at night is a "night light" no need to stumble around trying to find the bathroom, no need to keep the blaring bathroom light on. Hey, what can I say it's nice little thing. Second, GOOD in room coffee and enough for 2 pots! Thank you thank you! My only suggestion is... For us wine drinkers we are not going to spend $26.00 on bottle of wine that goes for around $9.00. What you should do is sale a bottle of wine that costs $25.00 for $45.00 and I would buy it!

Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the staff seemed great to me!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks so much for this detailed, thoughtful review! You're right — sometimes the little things are the best. They can add up to a really fun experience! We've been in this business for long enough to know what little conveniences our guests appreciate, but if you have any more ideas, we welcome feedback. I'm definitely taking note of your comment about the wine bottles. We are actually going to start experimenting with some additional wine options within our private bars and look forward to hearing more from our guests as this amenity offering evolves. Next time you need a getaway, for just the weekend or an extended stay, we'd love for you to come back and see us!

All the best,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This used to be a blah looking Sheraton. After a major renovation, it became a jewel for the downtown area. The glass sculptures are awesome. The staff has always been friendly, professional, and competent. My favorite is the front office manager, Janette. She always has a smile on her face. Nothing seems to rattle her. The hotel also has a full day spa. (I think hotel guests get a 10% discount, but the prices are still a tad high.) The restaurant has a pretty good food, but a limited menu. I did like the reasonable breakfast buffet. Good food at a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for saying we are the 'jewel' of the downtown area — that is very high praise! It's wonderful you enjoy our new renovations. And thank you for giving Janette a shout out — we will be sure to pass this positive feedback along to her! Also, just so you know, our restaurant menus are evolving, so please be sure to check them out again during your next visit. We'd love to have you stay with us again!

All the best,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 5 nights attending the knitters convention. The hotel was very crowded, premium room was comfortable, but neither the stopper in the bath or sink worked (not fixed), and when we checked in, neither did the TV (fixed quickly). Continental breakfast was included in a small room on the 25th floor, which was grossly overcrowded. To avoid this, the second morning we had room service breakfast, two coffees, two bowls of average granola $30 inc. tax & service delivery charge. Main restaurant was always crowded with a line up. My wife stayed here some years ago when there was an excellent restaurant on the top floor. Now it is on the 4th floor, very good service, down market menu, very average food. We ate out most of the time. The bar is excellent, if you can get through the crowds. Bell/concierge very helpful.

Room Tip: High floor, ask for a room far away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for this helpful, honest feedback. While I'm glad you enjoyed our glass-themed decor, bar and comfy rooms, I'm sorry to hear there were a few items in your room that needed to be fixed. Did you call down to the concierge for the stopper problem? As for the TV, it sounds like we got that taken care of fairly quickly — hopefully you didn't have to wait too long. As for our restaurant, while it's wonderful you were impressed with our service, I'm sorry nothing wowed you. What menu items did you try? What could we do to improve your experience?

Once again, I really appreciate this review. I hope you will give us another shot! I know we can show you a much better time in the future.

Much appreciated,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Family Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Murano is a glass-filled downtown Tacoma hotel, centrally located amongst a number of restaurants, bars, museums and more. When you enter the Hotel Murano, a world-class art collection greets you at the lobby. You notice that same commitment to form extends into every feature of this Tacoma Hotel. Hotel Murano features 50 glass artists and their masterpieces from all over the world, including Greek artist Costas Varotsos and Murano artist Massimo Micheluzzi. In addition, the hotel specializes in personalized guest relationships, ensuring every business or leisure traveler feels at home and has everything one could possibly need or desire. We are also proud to be a pet friendly hotel. Located in downtown Tacoma, the hotel is perfectly situated as a home base while guests visit local businesses, restaurants, the Museum of Glass, the Tacoma Art Museum and the Washington State History Museum. A stay at this hotel may just ignite that artistic spirit within you.Hotel Murano is a creation by Provenance Hotels, a company that specializes in hotels with deeply integrated art themes, that opened in 2008. Since then, the hotel has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally by multiple publications, including Conde Nast Traveler United Kingdom, USA Today, Elle Greece and Travel + Leisure. In 2010, it made the Conde Nast Traveler's (United States) Gold list and ranked No. 6 in the Top 100 Hotels in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.