We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come Hungry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie's Home Cookin'

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie's Home Cookin'
15717 Main St E, Sumner, WA 98390
(253) 863-0111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Sumner
Restaurant details
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Come Hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The whole family flavor from the time I entered till the time I left. There was plenty of food and you will not leave hungry. They had enough food that you needed a to go box because even being full you could not eat it all. If you are in the area do not pass up going to eat here!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I try to eat here every time I'm in the lake tapps area.
very friendly and helpful staff.
great menu with very large portions.
great value for what you pay

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not our first Rodeo at Dixie's- Yee Haw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family has been visiting Dixie's ever since we found out there is plenty of parking in the back. For years we didn't stop because the small front parking lot (shared with a martial arts business next door) was always full. But the back lot is big, just like the big heart of this small restaurant and just like the big portions of the made-for-you meals they put in front of you!

This week we stopped in for breakfast to power up a day of long-overdue yard work and we were not disappointed. I ordered Dixie's Breakfast Monte - a carb-and-protein fest of bacon, sausage, eggs with two cheeses layered between three thick slices of French toast served with a generous helping of Dad's Potatoes (think round French fries for breakfast)(YUM!). Steaming hot coffee and cream from a creamer always says home to me, and I have yet to see the bottom of an empty cup at Dixie's. The service is as fast as the crowds allow, always with a smile and often with some neighborly banter which says the place is keeping its regulars coming back again and again.

Others at our table were in blueberry heaven over the massive stacks of Dave's Berry Blue - two plate-size blueberry pancakes smothered in a rich blueberry compote lavished with whipped cream; Andouille Sausage and scrambled eggs with marbled rye toast - spicy and savory and the Home-made Corned Beef Hash with perfectly poached eggs.

When you go, don't be shy about having an omelet made your way. I am a big fan of the Grilled Gobbler, a big turkey sandwich made on grilled sourdough bread, so much so that when we visit at lunch time, the kitchen starts grilling before I even sit down! One morning, I couldn't decide what to have, I wanted eggs, but love that sandwich. The boss said hey, we can make that gobbler into an omelet for you! AND THEY DID! It was the best breakfast I have ever had that was never on the menu. Now THAT'S service with a smile!

I'd recommend Dixie's to anyone anytime of day. Go for a big filling breakfast, go for the Gobbler at lunch (or my husband's favorite - the Pulled Pork Chili!) or just a slice of their best Rhubarb Pies (Including Blackberry, Blueberry or Raspberry-Rhubarb match-ups!) or the Pink Lemonade Cake or a Blue Bunny Ice Cream treat or....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dixie's is GREAT !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great home cookin' and service ! Big portions !! Had a family outing and Dixie's treated all 15 of us like kings/queens. The owners are on site and very customer service oriented. We will visit Dixie's again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My sister and I stopped by for an early dinner because she wanted to show me old town Sumner and do some antique shopping. We sat down and since there were only 2 other tables, thought this would be a snap. Unfortunately, the owner's wife was the waitress, cook, and cashier so we had a long wait. The kitchen is seperated from the dining area by only a partition, so the room was hot and stuffy. My sis had to go outside for some air while I stayed at the table so it wouldn't look like we left. The food was good, but not worth the uncomfortable wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie's Home Cookin' also viewed

 

Been to Dixie's Home Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie's Home Cookin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.