We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No low-cal dining here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Branks BBQ & Catering

Branks BBQ & Catering
13701 24th St. E, Sumner, WA 98390
(253) 891-1789
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Sumner
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“No low-cal dining here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staff was very friendly here. Other than that, I wasn't impressed. Menu is quite limited and a lot of grease and calories accompany the ribs. Dessert was included, but was some kind of artificial tasting parfait with cookie crumbs on top. Wife and I aren't used to that much grease and left not feeling so great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been eating at Branks when they were in downtown Sumner and the Family has always been friendly and the food ans service outstanding,love the baby back ribs and brisket, will always go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Great Northwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food OK but over-priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Ordered brisket and baby back ribs to-go for lunch. Brisket pieces were small; looked like a portion size for a kids meal rather than an adult meal. No cornbread or Texas toast or onions were included so you could make a sandwich. They just threw the meat into a Styrofoam box. Received four small pieces of baby back ribs which were a bit dried out. Each meal came with individual sides. The baked beans were great. The coleslaw and potato salad, not so great. All in all, this 'lunch for two' cost $22 which was way over-priced for the portion sizes you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I'm from Texas and decided to try the brisket. First mistake - dry. Second mistake - chewy. Third mistake - no smoke ring. That's a combination for disaster when it comes to eating brisket.

Sides were made in house, best coleslaw I had in awhile. Beans and cornbread were also good. Dinner plate came with dessert. I was expecting cobbler or pan made cheesecake. Instead it was chocolate mousse from a mix.

On the up side they do have sweet tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy to the Tummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Brank's is a family-owned authentic BBQ restaurant with a simple menu and a friendly staff. You walk out with your tummy more than full of some of the best brisket you can find. The portions are large and the side selections accompany BBQ nicely. They have been very consistent from visit to visit both with their service and the quality. You can find not only ribs, pulled pork, brisket and chicken, but salads and BBQ sandwiches too. I always end up having to take part of my meal home due to the large portions. I have eaten here many times and love this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Branks BBQ & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Branks BBQ & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.