We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel - good customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 136th Ave Court East, Sumner, WA 98390   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Business Hotel - good customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time to the state of Washington, needed to stay in Sumner for business for 8 nights. Hotel room was typical for the cost. King size bed was comfortable, sheets were soft, and room was clean. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the side away from the train tracks, as the train is a daily 6 am occurence. There were no restaurants in an easy walking distance. The free morning breakfast was very good, considering the price. Every day there was an egg selection and some kind of meat, along with biscuits and gravy. Also cinamon rolls, toast, muffins, and pancakes were always available. THe hotel staff was very accomodating, going out of their way to be helpful, and even having a conversation at 6am in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: select a room away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
21
23
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My daughter had invited 3 friends for a slumber party to celebrate her 11th birthday when we learned that one had an animal allergy. Because we have a dog, I started looking for nearby hotels that could accommodate our group. This hotel would not allow me to pay for an extra person and sleep on the floor or bring in a cot. I would have to pay for 2 rooms, which does not work as I don't want to leave any girls unsupervised and I can't be in both rooms at once. Also, the second room is not necessary as MOST any other hotel could charge me a little more for a room with a couch, or a pull out, or a cot or just a standard extra person charge. Alexia was completely unwilling to discuss any other options with me and I was very disappointed as this is so close to home and convenient. Fortunately the other two (but much father away) hotels I called were happy to accommodate our group in a single room. Too bad for Holiday Inn. We often have out of town guests, I would have been happy to send their way, but not now.

Room Tip: A far as I can tell by their unwillingness to accommodate our group, they only have one standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear ALRSUMNER,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding our property. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I do apologize that you felt the hotel staff was not as understanding to your request as you would have hoped for. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will follow up with the respective department to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again in the future.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's a pretty standard Express, but the area around is a wasteland - though there is a very clear view of Mt. Rainier ... on a clear day. The bed wasn't super comfortable and they didn't give us our wake-up call, but it was otherwise a regular Express experience.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the back of the hotel to have a sidelong view of Mt. Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel looks new, and it's pretty nice inside. The front desk staff was friendly, and our complimentary Priority Club goody bag (white cheddar popcorn and cookies) was nice. There is a Keurig coffeemaker in the lobby, which was a nice extra. The room was nice and spacious. The HDTV had more than 100 channels, and many were HD. We didn't hear the trains at all, even though we slept with the window open. The AC was nice and quiet when we used it instead of the window. The breakfast in the morning was standard HI Express fare, but it was quite good. Our one problem was the fridge in our room, 128. It stopped running in the middle of the night. Thankfully, we didn't have anything in there that was ruined, but it was still a inconvenience. The hotel is an extra drive, and it isn't really close to anything. I'd still recommend this hotel, as the rooms are nice and spacious at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

First time we have ever stayed at a HI Express, and have to say we loved it!!! Our friends chose to stay at a cheaper motel, and we looked up reviews and saw HI Express. I'm so glad we chose HI Express. The rooms were excellent, clean, and so very quiet, large. Breakfast we great. Just make sure if you book you don't get room 216 it's the only room without a view. The roof that is over the covered parking to check in blocks this rooms window, so that was a bummer, but still room was great and would stay next time in the area.

Room Tip: King size bed room was awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here for a two day baseball tournament in Enumclaw, WA. The hotel appears to be fairly new. The rooms were very clean as well as the other areas within the hotel. The breakfast was very well done and there were many options to choose from. I was impressed with the automatic pancake machine. I hadn't seen one of those before. There is also a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby. The hotel is a block from HWY 167, which makes it convenient for traveling. The only complaint I have is there are several trains that run past the hotel through the night. There were two packs of ear plugs in the bathroom. The second night I closed the window and didn't notice the trains as much.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were up for sports and stayed at the hotel as we like the chain. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ready to go and well stocked. Keurig coffee maker in lobby was a nice touch. Pool was great for the kids. No places to eat close by, but it was nice and quiet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumner
2.6 mi away
Sumner Motor Inn
Sumner Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Sumner
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Puyallup
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
11.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Buckley
Econo Lodge Buckley
#1 of 1 in Buckley
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner

Address: 2500 136th Ave Court East, Sumner, WA 98390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sumner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new Sumner/Puyallup, Washington hotel!The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sumner/Puyallup, conveniently located near downtown Sumner, is just a short drive from Tacoma & Seattle. The Seattle Tacoma Int'l Airport is less than 20 miles away.Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Wild Wave Theme Park, Troutlodge, Northwest Trek, Point Defiance Zoo & the Aquarium are all near our hotel in Sumner & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Emerald Queen Casino or watch the races at Emerald Downs Racetrack. For those who want to shop, Auburn Super Mall is nearby.With convenient access to Mission Foods, Medallion Foods, Sumner Industrial Park & Interstate Distribution, our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Pierce College, McChord Air Force Base & Fort Lewis Army Base are all near our Sumner hotel, as well. A 24-hour business center, & free, high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, will help you stay connected as you do business on the road.During your stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel, take time to enjoy the fabulous amenities. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work-out in the fitness center. Enjoy, a free Express Start hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sumner
Holiday Inn Express Sumner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.