We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 136th Ave Court East, Sumner, WA 98390   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
White Salmon, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's a pretty standard Express, but the area around is a wasteland - though there is a very clear view of Mt. Rainier ... on a clear day. The bed wasn't super comfortable and they didn't give us our wake-up call, but it was otherwise a regular Express experience.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the back of the hotel to have a sidelong view of Mt. Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
18
19
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel looks new, and it's pretty nice inside. The front desk staff was friendly, and our complimentary Priority Club goody bag (white cheddar popcorn and cookies) was nice. There is a Keurig coffeemaker in the lobby, which was a nice extra. The room was nice and spacious. The HDTV had more than 100 channels, and many were HD. We didn't hear the trains at all, even though we slept with the window open. The AC was nice and quiet when we used it instead of the window. The breakfast in the morning was standard HI Express fare, but it was quite good. Our one problem was the fridge in our room, 128. It stopped running in the middle of the night. Thankfully, we didn't have anything in there that was ruined, but it was still a inconvenience. The hotel is an extra drive, and it isn't really close to anything. I'd still recommend this hotel, as the rooms are nice and spacious at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

First time we have ever stayed at a HI Express, and have to say we loved it!!! Our friends chose to stay at a cheaper motel, and we looked up reviews and saw HI Express. I'm so glad we chose HI Express. The rooms were excellent, clean, and so very quiet, large. Breakfast we great. Just make sure if you book you don't get room 216 it's the only room without a view. The roof that is over the covered parking to check in blocks this rooms window, so that was a bummer, but still room was great and would stay next time in the area.

Room Tip: King size bed room was awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here for a two day baseball tournament in Enumclaw, WA. The hotel appears to be fairly new. The rooms were very clean as well as the other areas within the hotel. The breakfast was very well done and there were many options to choose from. I was impressed with the automatic pancake machine. I hadn't seen one of those before. There is also a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby. The hotel is a block from HWY 167, which makes it convenient for traveling. The only complaint I have is there are several trains that run past the hotel through the night. There were two packs of ear plugs in the bathroom. The second night I closed the window and didn't notice the trains as much.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were up for sports and stayed at the hotel as we like the chain. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ready to go and well stocked. Keurig coffee maker in lobby was a nice touch. Pool was great for the kids. No places to eat close by, but it was nice and quiet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I think this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at and I travel quite frequently. The staff is great, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable, and service is excellent. I have stayed here quite a few times at different times during the year, and never has this hotel been even close to full. This leads me to doubt some of the reviews about the place being overbooked. It is kind of secluded from everything which further leads me to doubt the place was overbooked. Anyway, if you are ever in the Auburn/federal Way/Sumner area for business this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a railroad track that runs behind the building. I have never stayed on that side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I had such good luck at the Wenatchee Holiday inn that we decided to give the Sumner one a try as we wanted to go to Nordstorms and the Super Mall to shop. This is a new hotel and was very clean. The breakfast was great, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, biskets and gravy, several juices and coffee plus a variety of Krug coffees. We used the pool and hot tub and had a very relaxing time. Will stay again..

Room Tip: any room, off the main floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner

Address: 2500 136th Ave Court East, Sumner, WA 98390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sumner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new Sumner/Puyallup, Washington hotel!The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sumner/Puyallup, conveniently located near downtown Sumner, is just a short drive from Tacoma & Seattle. The Seattle Tacoma Int'l Airport is less than 20 miles away.Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Wild Wave Theme Park, Troutlodge, Northwest Trek, Point Defiance Zoo & the Aquarium are all near our hotel in Sumner & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Emerald Queen Casino or watch the races at Emerald Downs Racetrack. For those who want to shop, Auburn Super Mall is nearby.With convenient access to Mission Foods, Medallion Foods, Sumner Industrial Park & Interstate Distribution, our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Pierce College, McChord Air Force Base & Fort Lewis Army Base are all near our Sumner hotel, as well. A 24-hour business center, & free, high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, will help you stay connected as you do business on the road.During your stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel, take time to enjoy the fabulous amenities. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work-out in the fitness center. Enjoy, a free Express Start hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sumner
Holiday Inn Express Sumner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.