We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big River Grill

Big River Grill
192 NE 2nd St, Stevenson, WA 98648
(509) 427-4888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
University Place, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“truly fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

solid menu very well executed, can even do some sandwiches gluten free, great place for a drink also

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    79
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good find in Stevenson, WA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had been exploring and hiking all day......looking for good food close to our lodging. My husband ordered the Fresh Wild Salmon with a delicious sauce, served with Polenta and fresh vegetables. I ordered the Shrimp Scampi which was a nice blend of flavors and not overloaded with pasta. Our server, Faith, was charming and steered us in the right direction. We shared a mini homemade brownie/ice cream dessert which was delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great option in small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I came here several times during four days hiking in Skamania County. I was very enamored of the Northwest Salad, with amazing smoked salmon (in general, it's very hard to go wrong with this fish up here). They had one of the best blue cheese dressings I've had (not too thick), although I preferred the garlic vinaigrette with this salad. The smoked sturgeon appetizer (another local fish) was also first rate. They make their own root beer, and if you like hard cider, the Angry Orchard is great. Service was friendly if a bit too casual/lackadaisical for my taste (found this everywhere in the area though). IN ADDITION: their cadillac margarita is much better than the one at the Mexican restaurant across the street (fresh lime juice, not yucky sweet and sour), and $2.50 cents cheaper!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great Find in a Quaint Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were from out of town up from California visiting relatives when we consulted Trip Advisor for a place to eat lunch in Stevenson. Big River Grill it was. The staff welcomed us, the décor was cute and the selections on the menu impressive. I ordered the turkey sandwich and my sister-in-law ordered the salmon sandwich and we switched halves. Both sandwiches were absolutely delicious! The salmon was a pretty substantial piece and cooked to perfection. My father-in-law really enjoyed his burger and my husband had a chicken sandwich special which he also enjoyed. Big River Grill was a great find and we look forward to returning when in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for Stevenson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband suggested we go here as he loves their Reuben! I thought the corned beef was a bit stringy! It was hot though! I love my food hot! I had the Grilled veggie sandwich! It was supposed to be served on house made focaccia and was served on a hamburger bun. Yuck! And maybe that's why my sandwich wouldn't hold together and I had to eat it with a fork! There wasn't any sauce either !
Service was a bit lacking - slow!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big River Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.