We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little secret eatery in the Columbia Gorge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big River Grill

Big River Grill
192 NE 2nd St, Stevenson, WA 98648
(509) 427-4888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
The Dalles, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best little secret eatery in the Columbia Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have gone here numerous times over the years and have never been disappointed. We recently discovered they serve breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays and there is nothing that comes close to this place for quality of food, value, and service. They care about what they serve and everything we have had has been delicious and well prepared. The menu is not large but I find that a positive aspect, they now what they are doing. No restaraunt in the area can compare for a combination of high quality food, excellent value, and unique and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    79
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Bonneville, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“relaxing place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Server Joe was great., friendly & knew he menu well. ..A good variety on the wine & beer menu. food well prepared, maybe a little limited on the menu options. We`ll return for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Reuben Sandwich ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, clean, and food was wonderful. Very fresh salad, great reuben sandwich, yummy ice cream brownie dessert.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find in the Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While staying at the Skamania Lodge went into Stevenson for lunch. Found the Big River Grill and had a nice lunch ,soceye salmon sandwich and a creme of mushroom soup. Big Grill has a great selection of local brewed beers. Service was very good and friendly.
Went back the next night for dinner and again the service was good and the Tai chicken with peanut sauce was very good . The menu is eclectic and the beer selection good , I would go back anytime I was in this part of the county again .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Friendly host and excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owner was working behind the bar and was very friendly and welcoming. He updated us frequently on when there would be a table available. The staff is very efficient and attentive, so we had a table in a reasonable amount of time (it was a Friday night). Good choice of beers on tap. My husband had the Adobo pork loin (17.95) that other reviewers liked and agreed it was very good. I had the best reuben sandwich ($9.75) I have had in a long time. They start with a basic corned beef and then season it some more. It was very tender with excellent flavor. Their roasted garlic salad dressing was very good, but you need to love garlic flavor to like it. Had a very good creme brulee. It had a little more sugar on top than most so you have enough to last through the whole dessert. Well worth the $1 toll each way on the bridge to get there from Cascade Locks, Or, and we would definitely eat there again if in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big River Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.