We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous scenery and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Skamania Lodge to your Saves list
Skamania Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“gorgeous scenery and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went there for a business conference. They were unprepared for some things with our large group (like the number of vegetarians and healthful eaters we had), but the staff was fantastic and very accommodating. Great extras like a nightly campfire with s'mores available really added to the feeling of being in the beautiful WA mountains. Got to sleep with the windows open and enjoyed the walking trails daily.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't overlook the lounge, as the noise carries.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent vision for being eco-friendly; one of the reasons we held our conference there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    221
    91
    44
    19
See reviews for
130
317
14
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a wonderful four-day family reunion at Skamania Lodge with 54 people over 4th of July weekend. There is so much to do and to see in the area that we all thought that four days wasn't even enough. The lodge served delicious meals; breakfast, lunch and dinner, every day, in our own private family room. When meals weren't being served, the private family room was perfect for our other family activities as part of the reunion including singing and music. The dining was wonderful. The staff could accommodate every request from vegans, vegetarians, and other special diets in our family. For those that wanted to go off hiking, the staff provided box lunches to go. The hiking in the area is wonderful with many opportunities to discover waterfalls and gorgeous views in the mountains. The lodge is very family-oriented and very welcoming. If you are considering a family reunion from 20 to 100 people or more, Skamania Lodge has so much to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Tim G,

Thank you for the great review and we are honored that your family selected Skamania Lodge for your reunion! Our staff really enjoyed your family, especially our concierge Trish who interacted with many of the kids during the 4th of July activities. We truly appreciate your public recommendation and are hopeful for the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in Columbia Suite which was very spacious. However the AC unit had to be changed out immediately and the shower valve needed fixing. I ended up showering at the pool.

Grille was great and outdoor fire lovely but charging for s'mores kits for kids was tacky.

Restaurant breakfast was fine but wait staff forgot OJ. By the time we were able to get them to bring another, my plate was cold. To top it off the OJ was rancid and had to bring another,

Upside was lovely outdoor hot tub. Took a trail walk which was for the most part beautiful until we hit the small patch of nettle. Staff was working on it though.

Business center needs serious update.

So the lodge has had a bad dress rehearsal. Hopefully the staff will work harder to make it a great show.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived from across country after delayed flights and lost luggage. Arriving late, we arrived to ensure dining would be available. When we arrived, we were greeted by name and directed to the River Rock where the kitchen staff had not closed the kitchen knowing we would want to eat.
That set the tone for the rest of our stay. We had beautiful views, good food, a nice (local) beer and wine selection, gracious staff, comfortable surroundings... I could go on.
We also did the zipline and it was a great time.
We highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear AandBG,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts. Our entire staff of more than 300 associates greatly appreciates being awarded the honor of serving each of our guests. Our team truly appreciates being a part of Skamania Lodge and helping to play a role in creating find, lasting memories that bring guests back year after year. We hope this is the case with you as well. Best wishes for a great Summer.

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

this was a new area for us and we didn't know what to expect. We were rewarded with a great stay for two in nights. Right off we were treated to a very friendly staff. We had a bit of a wait in the registration line so a bell person came over to us and started giving us a description of the property. He later took us to our room and parked our car all the while giving ideas of what t o do in the area while at the lodge. My only complaint was that we wound up with two double beds rather than a king which I thought I had reserved. We arrived in time for the Friday night buffet. The desk clerk made reservations for us as they were strongly recommended. It was very nice to have all our needs taken care of without any hassle. I certainly would have no problem coming back here to stay. We didn't have a chance to play golf but the golf course looked inviting.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear BandBSanJose_CA,

We like this place too…thanks for sharing your thoughts. We hope that you will return to the Columbia River Gorge and Skamania Lodge many times in the months and years to come. The authentic, natural sense of service is something unique to our associates. We never tire of hearing of our friendly associates and hope to have the good fortune of welcoming you back to Skamania Lodge for many years to come.

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is simply divine. The service is Grade A. The lobby is pristine and beautiful and looking out to picture windows showing off kids playing in open green fields, a firepit to the left, and paths leading to lakes and rivers. Our room had a lovely king sized bed, and a clean bathroom. They give you the option to forego housekeeping for $5 vouchers that can be used at the gift shop, restaurant or bar.

In the evening the firepit is on so that you can roast marshmallows and make s'mores ($7/kit). They also put on a bird of prey exhibition. I cannot stress enough how friendly everyone is at the hotel, bar, restaurant and gift shop.

My only complaint is that the blankets on teh bed were too heavy for summer. They should switch to vellux blankets.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and view of the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: They appear to be extremely green in their efforts, giving patrons the choice to opt out of housekeeping. They even offer $5 vouchers for the sacrifice.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear CTCamQOTU,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay. Skamania Lodge strives to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating visit to our 175-acre oasis. There’s something about the warm glow of a fire, the taste of a s’more and the company of good friends to make Summer evenings more memorable. We appreciate your comment on our blankets and will certainly strive to honor your request. Best wishes for a great Summer and we hope to see you once again soon.

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had family reunion for 55 people. Everything was special. All the staff were very pleasant. The food ( pre-ordered) was outstanding. The choice of things to do was broad. The locale was lovely. The senary was breathtaking

Room Tip: get one that looks at the River-Columbia of course
See more room tips
Green Features: Green practices ENERGY STAR guest room appliances Energy-saving lighting controls ENERGY STAR windows Energy-efficient lightbulbs Towel reuse program Landscaping designed to minimize flooding
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Jim O,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. Skamania Lodge truly is a speical place and we never tire of hearing about our friendly associates. Thank you for choosing Skamania for your family reunion! We hope to welcome all 55 of you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skamania Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.