We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Father's Day at Skamania Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Skamania Lodge to your Saves list
Skamania Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Father's Day at Skamania Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've been to the lodge several times over the last few years for dinner or brunch, but this was my first weekend stay. First, it's a lovely location. It has a rustic feel, but upscale at the same time. It is very large, but on a crowded weekend like Father's day it felt a tad small in the common areas as there were weddings and TONS of kids running around. Luckily, it was a beautiful, sunny weekend and we were outside most of the time. The grounds are fabulous and you should take advantage of the walking trails!
The zip line tour looked really fun and safe. Spoke with a few people that tried it and they said it was a blast. The falcon "show" out on the back lawn was odd and not terribly entertaining. But, the weather was great, so we enjoyed just sitting out and enjoying a cocktail. We loved the s'mores out at the fire pit. They provide a really cute little s'mores kit that I am totally copying for our next outdoor adventure. It was fun for kids and adults.
Both restaurants are great. If you just want a salad or burger, the lounge restaurant is very good. We had the hummus appetizer, chicken Caesar salad, french dip sandwich and mac n' cheese. All very tasty!
The rooms were nice. A little pricey for the comfort level. Granted, it was a holiday weekend. But, they should consider upgrading their beds/pillows/bedding. Also, for kids it would be great to have access to in-room movies at night. Other than that we were all satisfied with our rooms.
For me, the best part of Skamania Lodge is the Sunday champagne brunch. I've been a handful of times and it's always great! While I prefer champagne, their bloody mary's are outstanding. Several house-infused vodka's to choose from depending on your spice preference. YUM!
This is a great place for a relaxing weekend. Will definitely go again!

Room Tip: We chose rooms overlooking the river with fireplaces. A lovely view which I appreciated. Though, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear PDXtravelgal36,

Thank you for spending Father’s Day Weekend with Skamania Lodge. The weekends are a busy time (and much different from our midweek periods) with happy kids, busy parents and excitement around every corner. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed our hiking trails, firepit and the relaxing views complimented with great food and tasty libations. It’s Summer season and the days are getting longer…we hope to welcome you back soon and hope that this Father’s Day will be fondly remembered for many years to come.

Sincerely,
Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    221
    91
    44
    19
See reviews for
130
318
14
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

So this lodge is huge! There are plenty of rooms & they host lots of business meetings for companies. The rooms are nice - but could benefit from a "freshen up" like upgrading the flat lifeless pillows & getting some wine glasses in the room. The grounds are fantastic and the food was fabulous. The bigger picture is there was nobody available to greet us when we arrived at the door - and no help or offer of help with the luggage. Then the door keys were deactivated during our 2nd night - requiring a trip back down to the lobby & very inconvenient. The other painful moment: the out door tub was "open" but was the temp of an iceberg! I liked my visit but I will not make a point of coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

February 2013 was our third winter visit to Skamania Lodge. It was good as always except the outdoor hot tub was closed for some kind of construction work. This was disappointing because the hot tub is really nice in the cold-ish evenings. They are constructing a zip course that looks interesting, high in the trees. Winter is a great time to visit this lodge. The mist is over the Columbia River in the mornings, the restaurant is quite empty, you can actually get a seat in the main lodge room, and the giant fireplace is going all day. Walking on the trail on the property is great if it is not too wet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear jillben,

Thank you for taking the time to share you views of Skamania Lodge during the winter season. We hope to have you visit this summer. Our outdoor hottub is now complete and newly enhanced with a waterfall feature. Our ZIP Line Canopy Tour is open and creating great excitement for guests each day as they zip thru our tall Douglas Firs at speeds of up to 45 mph. We just welcomed our new Executive Chef, James Wallace. And Skamania just keeps getting better. So, whenever you visit, we hope to make you feel welcomed, relaxed and refreshed.

Sincerely,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

spent the weekend here during ideal weather (sunny, not hot) but had to attend conference most of the time. Hotel staff is pleasant, helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Setting is in the woods and all rooms have a view of either the Columbia River or the forest, which is also relaxing. You can hear the trains in the distance. Rugs/floors are showing signs of wear but not too bad. Food is quite good - especially the sunday brunch and Friday seafood buffet.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the forest may be a little cheaper (i don't know) and if they are, the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for 5 years and things are much different now. Room service has deteriorated into expensive crap that isn't worth the money, service has deteriorated (I heard a lot of "I'm sorry we can't do that") and oh by the way the "spacious Wasco suite with a balcony and plenty of room" in room 315 sits right over the outdoor bar and eating area that stays open til 10:30. Kind of ruins the mood with drunk laughing people staring at you trying to talk with your loved one while the kids are screaming that they can't sleep cause of the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for the note. Five years of trips to Skamania… wow! That’s pretty special and we truly appreciate your business. I would recommend reserving one of our Woodland suites on your next visit. They are just as spacious and are known for their quite balconies overlooking the forest and trees. It was disappointing to read your thoughts on our service levels as we strive to make sure every guests leaves happy and well rested. I have already shared your comments with the team but would like to encourage you to let us know of any frustrations during your stay. We are by no means perfect and welcome feedback in order to continually improve our business. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful setting and very nice property. Very challenging golf course! However, room was very basic. No wine glass or corkscrew in room (fairly common anymore at other nice lodges) No small balcony to sit on outside room and enjoy views in private. Great lawn seating outside main lobby over looking river and patio dining available. Good list of activities. Maybe that is why rooms so basic, they want you to use rest of facility and get out of your room. Here for a conference and appears to be the number one reason to come to the lodge.

Room Tip: River view rooms a plus, but again, a small balcony to sit and drink wine in private would make this...
See more room tips
Green Features: Surprisingly, no recycling bins! Nice walking trails, challenging and follows golf course so be golf ball aware.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear k2kelley,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent visit to Skamania Lodge. You are correct in that more than 60% of our guests each year visit our Cascadian-style lodge to attend a meeting or event. Skamania Lodge itself is designed after the grand lodges of the National Park System. And while we are not the most luxurious property in the west, it is our hope that our authentic service, comfortable accommodations and abundance of incredible natural beauty create positive, lasting memories for generations to come. We hope to welcome you back soon- for business or for pleasure.

Sincerely,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Skamania Lodge is surrounded by beauty. The staff is so friendly and always around to help. Our room faced the mountains and was breathtaking. You MUST sign up for the ZIp Line Tour. Absolutely the best thing to do. The team will guide you through an experience you won't want to miss. They really know what they're doing!!

Room Tip: I would choose a room that had the fireplace, really adds to the atmoshphere.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice that they give you an option with the room cleanings etc to help save water.. LIke the big bottles of shampoo etc in shower.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Teresa K,

We agree…Skamania Lodge is surrounded by beauty. Beauty enjoyed by the Native America Tribes that have resided in The Gorge for thousands of years. Beauty that Lewis and Clark first discovered on their trek to the Pacific. And beauty that is protected for centuries thanks to the National Scenic Act. And now you’ve found a new way to enjoy the natural splendor of The Columbia River Gorge. We hope to welcome you back often for quick zips thru the tall Douglas Firs. The views from our ZIP Line Tour are incredible- especially at 45 mph and 10 stories in the air. Best wishes and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skamania Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.