We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Skamania Lodge to your Saves list
Skamania Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent one night at Skamania after a long drive. We will definitely be back! We were very impressed from the moment we arrived. The entire staff made you feel right at home. Loved the River Rock restaurant! Those Parmesan fries!!! Yum! Loved the fire pit, the outdoor hot tub and the walking trails! Beautiful golf course. They are re-roofing, but you didn't hear anything while in your room. Beds were very comfy. We didn't go to the spa, but the staff in the spa were so informative. We are gonna schedule a girls' weekend in October! Love this place. Keep up the great customer service Skamania!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    221
    91
    44
    19
See reviews for
130
317
14
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent a two night getaway at the Skamania Lodge in March. It was a wonderful place. The staff was excellent from check-in to dinner. We had a forest view room with fireplace and the room was clean, spacious and very cozy. I would note that they were re-roofing the building during our stay (a job I would not want) but booked us into a room away from the work area so noise was not an issue.

We had dinner one night in the lodge restaurant which was excellent with a beautiful view of the Columbia River. We also enjoyed the walking trails on the property. I played a round of golf on the beautiful but difficult 18 hole course.

Room Tip: A room with a fireplace is definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a business meetings in one of the conference rooms. The view was great over looking the river - hard to pay attention! The Drive up from Portland, wow, not use to that kind of scenery being a Dallas native!

The room was comfortable, bed a little hard for my liking, but I was so tired by bed time I passed right out! They had a large Christmas tree in the lodge and a cozy fire, very homey feeling. It was a short stay for business, but It was comfortable and enjoyable. The food was average, the wines were great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

ROOM: The room was very comfortable, there was a fireplace and couch. The view from our room was very pretty. The only problem I had with our room was that it was close to the lobby and the walls are pretty thin. You can hear everything going on at night and in the morning, we were on the second floor. Loved that they provided comfy robes, might have been my favorite part! ;) TV also had a lot of stations to watch, I don't believe there was an option to rent movies.

FOOD: The food was good, we ate at the casual restaurant. We had a "$60" food credit that came along with our room. We easily spent $40 on dinner, it was pretty expensive in my opinion for a couple of burgers and pop. We decided to save $20 for breakfast since there is not a complimentary breakfast. We had room service, which again was very easy to spend $ on. $6 for yogurt parfait!!! Crazy... anyways, they ended up charging me for the breakfast on my debit card they had on file. I called to let them know we had a food credit and the lady said the food credit is only for dinner. No one explained this important fact to us. She kindly refunded me the $20, so if you have this $60 credit, just be aware you have to spend it at dinner.

Activities: We went on a hike which was beautiful, the area is gorgeous rain or shine. Hot tub outside was also very nice and relaxing. They have a spa, it was VERY overpriced.

Another important fact that you might want to know before you stay here is that they charge you a $17 lodging fee when you check out that they don't tell you about when you get there. When I asked what it was about they said, "well you know how most hotels charge you for internet, parking, coffee...well we just charge you $17 for all of those things to make it cheaper for you." I found this weird and honestly kind of shady. It should be your choice if you want to pay for internet, most hotels actually provide coffee and hot chocolate without a hidden fee, and for parking...well I've never been charged for parking unless it's in a parking garage. I found this place nice and it's a great getaway, but just be sure to factor $17 on top of whatever your room cost is. They will also put a $70 hold on your debit card, so if you do not want that to happen use a credit card. The $70 is tied up for a couple days.

Room Tip: As far away from lobby area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear lovelyginger86,

Thank you for taking the time to share your insight regarding your recent visit to Skamania Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room- especially our comfy robes. Skamania Lodge did switch to Direct TV not long ago in an effort to give our guests more TV options. Our hiking trails are getting lovelier by the day with the onslaught of Spring as the abundance of wild flowers that have begun popping about. We do hope to have you visit with us once again soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed at Skamenia Lodge multiple times over the past 8 years and enjoyed my experience immensely. Unfortunately, there have been changes made over the past 2 years, and none for the better. The lobby used to have classy and comfortable furniture. It now looks like someone went to a corporate furniture store and cobbled together a few disparate sitting arrangements. Furthermore, the food was a huge disappointment. The Saturday Seafood Buffet used to be a spectacular event that I was looking forward too weeks in advance. It has degenerated into a sub-par buffet; and that for the price of $39. Before leaving, we ordered some food in the restaurant to give the kitchen another chance. Three of us had the "fish of the day", halibut. My piece was unevenly cut and dry as cardboard. It came with Brussel sprouts that were undercooked. My friend had a "surf and turf" which comprised a charred up tiny piece of meat. The kitchen had to try 2 more times after we complained to get it half-way right.
Not sure what happened to this place. I saw the comments from the general manager in Tripadvisor, stating that they are addressing the food problem. I didn't see any evidence for that unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Werner L,

It is always good to hear from our guest and I appreciate your comments on the furniture update. Like yours, every comment regardless of opinion demonstrates the passion that our guest have for Skamania Lodge. The goal is to update and appeal to a broad audience of customers without changing the character of Skamania as a Grand NW Lodge.

Our Friday night Gorge Harvest Buffet is intended to feature items that are in season and our Executive Chef, James Boheim, and his team attempt to purchase as many items (vegetables, fruits, seafood, beef, wine, beer, etc…) from Columbia River Gorge purveyors. This is done in an effort to always offer the freshest, tastiest and healthiest ingredients, including many seafood options. Over the years our guests began referring to it as our Seafood Buffet but the focus has always been to partner with our local purveyors and deliver the best of the region.

I hope that you will continue to be a supporter of Skamania Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott Spann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got this deal through a Living Social offer. We had wanted to go somewhere over March 17 (our anniversary, but it was blacked out for this time. Good thing! We had nearly perfect weather on Saturday and just light showers off and on the rest of the weekend. We had a great check in. I had opted to put in for a requested upgrade if available, which I really liked being able to do ahead of time online. We ended up with a King room with a fireplace on the 4th floor with a fabulous view of the Gorge. Great room, was surprised to have a fridge in the room and a good layout. The only reason this gets a 4 star review instead of a 5 is because you can easily hear the people next t .o you on definitely people out in the hall. But believe me, everything else made up for that. We loved sitting in the big lounge with the big roaring fire and fresh coffee and tea available. The pool was huge and there is an indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi available. Oh yeah, and the great fluffy robes can in so handy too. We would definitely love to come back here. The Sunday brunch is pricey but the best ever experienced, just make reservations ahead of time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i recently attended a large conference for Skamania Lodge for 3 days. The staff, facilities and food were great. Can't say enough about how well things were and how hard the staff worked to make sure our large group of people had a successful event. The weather even cooperated and the sunshine entered the gorge in March for 3 beautiful days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Michael F,

Thank you for the note. Spring has indeed arrived early at Skamania Lodge and we hope to welcome you back once again soon as the flowers begin to bloom and the colors of Springs burst forth in all of their glory. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Skamania Lodge is the perfect venue to mix business with pleasure and we appreciate being awarded the pleasure of serving you.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 SW Skamania Lodge Way, Stevenson, WA 98648
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skamania Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.