We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center

Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center
900 SW Rock Creek Drive, Stevenson, WA
(800) 991-2338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A three-story center offering exhibits on the history of the Columbia Gorge.
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Educational Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

We visited this attraction as we were leaving Skamania Lodge. We found it to be very interesting and learned lots of great facts about the Colombia Gorge.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smaller museum with local history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

I'm not a big museum goer, so I probably wouldn't have paid to go had it not already been paid for.
Interesting exhibits about the columbia gorge area.

Visited August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for a shoirt visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

This museum is worth a visit if you're in the neighbourhood. Very clean and airy with lots of natural light. Friendly staff too. Looks like they started with the notion of creating a museum of history for Washington and then realised they had such a breadth of stuff to display it became a little disjointed.

The exhibits outside really don't do the ones inside justice. The outside looks like a bit of a dumping ground but there are some nice little gems there if you care to look.

Be sure to take a wide angle lens if you intend to take photographs because getting into the right position for some exhibits is a real challenge.

Visited August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorge History and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We stopped at this interpretive center mostly to escape the heat. When we began to poke around we were pleasantly surprised. Not only did we get a history of the gorge but much, much more....including a look at a huge rosary collection. There was quite a bit outside that we saw through a window...must go back on a cooler day! Take the time to enjoy this site. It is worth it!

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth a stop to get a feel for the gorge and its history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

This center is well worth taking the time to visit - it gives a great feel for the history of the area and is good for all ages

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.