We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I had more time to spend there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center

Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center
900 SW Rock Creek Drive, Stevenson, WA
(800) 991-2338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Stevenson
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A three-story center offering exhibits on the history of the Columbia Gorge.
Hollister, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wished I had more time to spend there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Learned more about the Lewis and Clark expedition, good use of interactive computer kiosks and media...learned more about local history. There is a raptor show there too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great facility and location. Good perspective to the history of the Gorge. Exhibits are pertinent and well positioned to make your visit memorable

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The largest gallery in the museum is Harvesting Resources, which focuses on the timber and fishing industries in the Gorge. It also contains a waterfall. Four very large artifacts are on display.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A work in progress...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I read other reviews that praised this museum and heard great things about it. I was impressed with the building and location. However, I was not so impressed with the curation of the exhibits. It seemed to be a collection of a wide variety of historical artifacts, but difficult to make sense of it all in a linear fashion. They had a massive collection of rosary beads, but....why? Because someone donated them? I think it has a lot of potential and I'm guessing many volunteers have their hand in creating this lasting legacy. I'm wondering if someone is making the tough decisions about what gets displayed and how.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marching thru Carson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great museum and lots of cool history there - I loved the Lincoln School Room photo - lots of great artifacts

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.