We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A museum in need of a theme” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center

Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center
900 SW Rock Creek Drive, Stevenson, WA
(800) 991-2338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A three-story center offering exhibits on the history of the Columbia Gorge.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A museum in need of a theme”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The native American portion of this exhibit was very good, and the photos of Mt. st. Helen's interesting, but the rest seemed like a resting place for whatever old furniture, industrial equipment, and other artifacts that individuals could not bear to go un noticed. Not worth the time or money. The display of rosary beads particularly bizzare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really enjoyed this stop. The View is amazing. The building rare in that one wouldn't expect to find something so beautiful and traditional seemingly in the middle of nowhere - at least when it was built. Be sure to stop here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sea of Lavender!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was the second time we stopped. Last time was at the end of summer...after the lavender crop had been harvested. Was an OK stop. This time we timed our stop while the lavender was in full bloom...amazing!! A sea of lavender snuggled in between views of two snow capped mountains!

Cut our own lavender bunch...Huge bunch for $3.00!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very interesting. They have a Bi-plane hanging from the ceiling~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This three story Intrep Center is not short on exhibits. It's run very efficiently.

We initially came with a group and hubs came next to me and told me in a whisper..."we are coming back when we don't have an hour time limit."

They have, on the first floor a mezzanine that runs whenever people go in and sit down. (you push a button) It is a short film depicting how the Columbia Gorge was formed during the ice age. It's very intriguing.

Be sure to snoop around and look in all the corners. You will find more facts that you never thought you would be interested in.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn About the Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This musueum provides information about the native Americans, the first residents of the Gorge and then Lewis & Clark follwed by the settlers right up to modern times. did you know Stevenson was the Las Vegas of it's time....you could get a marriage license and get hoitched all in the same day. Lots of excellent displays in a very interesting building.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.