We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convinient location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40 N E Second St, Stevenson, WA 98648 (Formerly Econo Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“convinient location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

this motel conveniently located right at the entrance of the town, if you drive towards Portland. There is a grocery store within 5 min to walk with an info center on the way, same right side of the sidewalk.
There is a Big T’s Diner almost across the motel with a very friendly staff, gigantic portions of good meal. I had breakfast there.

The big BUT to stay in this motel is a train, running day and night 2 streets away. Ear plugs will help though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
8
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a desperation booking from the road. Had a magazine for the area that had an ad for the Rodeway Inn. We figured it couldn't be too bad since it was a Choice Hotel. Not true!!
I always check Trip Advisor before booking a hotel. We did not have a chance to check since we were driving from Mount St. Helens area. The night manager was nice, but it took him a while to find the reservation we made on the phone, When we got to the room, there were outside "porch" type lights that had attracted every bug from the river area you could imagine. I was trying to open, throw things into the room and quickly shut the door with each load from the car. I was not successful in keeping them out. Mostly gnats, but some unidentified bugs also got in. We did NOT find bed bugs, so that was a relief. Once we got done loading in, I tried to take advantage of the FREE WI-FI that was on a big banner on the front of the "inn". It didn't work. BIG Surprise!! I was too tired to call to complain. When I went to check out, I told the guy at the desk ( who looked like he just rolled out of bed ) about the issue. As others have mentioned, there was a language barrier. He looked at me like I was speaking gibberish. It took me three tries to get him to understand, He said "oh". No apologies. Will not EVER stay here again. I could deal with the room issues if, at least, the desk staff were more accommodating. My Dad said the breakfast was just OK and the coffee in the room for the coffee maker was awful.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a good room. We had 115 and the biggest issue was the bugs outside the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Need I say more? I work out of town every week, for the last 6 years. And I have NEVER had a bed bug problem until I stayed at the rodeway inn in Stevenson. I will be making efforts to get this dive taken off our corporate lodging list. If it looks bad-------it is bad

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Rodeway Inn because it was getting late in the day and not much else for lodging going east up the river. The Manager was of forien decent and had a lanugage barrier problem so it seemed. No special discounts of any kind flat rate of 65.00 plus tax for 2- people. The room was ok could have been a little cleaner, it had sugar ants that I noticed down by one of the night stands by the door. Room was a kitchen-ette that was well used. Airconditioner/heater made a loud noise while running. There was a stale oder in the room, which helped when you opened windows..Breakfast was not much , cereal and white toast,limited fruit. Manager was not helpful on recommending local restraunts to dine at, asked about popular eatery called the CXXX bar /grill and just got a blank look. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a better room or not?? from what I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
248 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

this motel has problems as others have noted. the walls are VERY thin, which can be a nuisance when you hear the neighbor's tv and conversations. i had a rather isolated room in the back ,so i was not facing the highway or railroad, which could also be noisy.
the room had a microwave, fridge, tv with 20 channels. it was superficially clean but desparately needed a deep cleaning and painting. the porch outside had peeling paint and was filthy. hot water pressure was very low. only received one shampoo packet for a 3 night stay.
problem is, there aren't any nearby budget motels unless you cross the river and stay in cascade locks, oregon.
there is a computer in the lobby for public use and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

well, you are paying $70+ in the gorge area, the room was neat, simple good clean bath room / wash areas, bed/pillow well done (nothing fancy). I stayed in non-smoking room, no smell or anything like that, the floor carpet may be bit old, was clean though. For the price, did'nt expect fancy breakfast, menu is - one cereal, orange juice, packaged pastry, white bread, all i wanted is fresh coffee in the morning, which was there.
If you are traveler, looking for simple neat place and saving $$ for more travel like me, the room i stayed (two queens) was fine. They gave me new towels everyday. Yes, you can hear some train noise, did not bother me as i was not in the road facing room.

Room Tip: Choose my room :) I gave avg for sleep quality because i don't get good sleep in most of the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Not fancy but had a large room. Comfortable and clean. Train noise was not a problem. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 40 N E Second St, Stevenson, WA 98648 (Formerly Econo Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Stevenson
Stevenson Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.