We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Sage American Bistro

Wild Sage American Bistro
916 W 2nd Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4502
509-456-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 770 Restaurants in Spokane
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Downtown Spokane's Premier Restaurant and Happy HourWild Sage is consistently rated as one of the best restaurants in Spokane and is winner of the Full Service Restaurant of the Year award from the Washington Restaurant Association. We are the premier downtown bistro for casual and romantic dinners, or drinks, desserts and small plates after a show or event.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Wild Sage is one of our favorite restaurants. For years we would go to Coeur d'Alene to patronize The Wine Cellar when Jim Duncan owned it, unfortunately it is not worth the trip anymore. We now go out of our way and regularly stay in Spokane and patronize The Wild Sage. It is consistently dependable...great food...great wine selection...friendly & knowledgeable servers. You will not be disappointed as every aspect of this establishment is first class.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    56
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wine tasting afterglow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

After two hours of barrel sampling with the winemaker of a nearby winery, four of us reconvened a few blocks away, parking in the convenient next door lot. Fortunately a table was available (best to reserve), and we were treated to their specialty popovers and honey herb butter as we contemplated the menu. Not needing a lot more wine, we appreciated the huge "by the glass" wine selection. Seared duckling breast, perfect. Spearfish grilled nightly special, delicious. Presentations, wonderfully harmonious. Vegetables perfectly cooked and seasoned. Perfect professional service in an atmosphere of casual luxury completed this mellow afternoon/evening with friends. Hadn't been for a while -- will return soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at Wild Sage American Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I loved everything you had to say. If I could bottle the essence of the Wild Sage, I would have you write the label description! In reflecting on your kind words, I thought you put into words what my hope is for every guests experience in my restaurant. It's the sum of all the pieces. We pay a lot of attention to the details, and love it when our guest responds in kind. Thank you for returning and discovering what we have grown into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute date place with great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

One of my husband and my favorite places in Spokane. The atmosphere is charming and the food very well-prepared and served. Good wines, desserts, port and popovers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Spokane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Best food in Spokane. Fresh, diverse and absolutely delicious and not expensive. And fabulous desserts. This is the only place in Spokane that has good desserts. The service is always outstanding too. Be sure to make reservations as they are always booked full.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at Wild Sage American Bistro, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Wow, thank you! We are delighted that you consider us your favorite Spokane restaurant. We are so fortunate to have so many long term crew that really care about our guest's dining experience. There is nothing I enjoy more then hearing from our guests and being able to share your experience with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wild Sage Eclectic Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Delicious menu, good atmosphere great service! Also the wine cellar downstairs is unique with special wines and art...don't miss checking out this tucked away gem. Parking can be a problem at times...easy access otherwise. Recommend for a quiet dinner...probably not the best place for little kiddos though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Sage American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wild Sage American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Sage American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.