We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting building but overpriced hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Montvale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Montvale Hotel to your Saves list
The Montvale Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 W First Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Spokane
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting building but overpriced hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There are only two reasons to stay at the Montvale Hotel : the interesting shabby-chic building and the centre of down town location. Note that there are zero services available

The rooms are large but the beds are very uncomfortable with absolutely terrible pillows, the street noise is unacceptable.

Ideal location if attending the Spokane Symphony performances overwise there is no reason to pay the very high prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    19
    18
    23
See reviews for
21
40
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eugene
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a beautiful historic hotel. And the oldest hotel in Spokane.Built in 1899 as a hotel, then became a brothel, then apartments, remodeled and refreshed back into hotel, this is a truly one of a kind experience. A place with great history. Very nice clean rooms, high ceilings, awesome common area in the middle of the hotel. The GM of this property is very helpful, we were late with our check in and he still helped us rebook and have us a better room at a better rate. The parking here is not too bad, $10 surcharge for parking is inexpensive and convenient. The only hiccup we had was the front desk lady who was clearly on something, messing up left and right, no matter how high she was, she was still very sweet. I do think it was her second day or something. And one other thing you should know, the walls here are pretty thin and you can hear a lot of noise from the street and other rooms, but with a property this old, it's to be expected. And I actually think it's not that jig of a deal, I still slept like a baby in a very comfortable and clean bed. Next time I come to Spokane, I will not hesitate to book this hotel. Thank you to all the staff and GM for a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First of all the building is a very very old building. Instead of having hallways to each room there is one very large common room that is has old comfy furniture it is beautiful old and rustic. Then u go to ur room and the ceiling is about 11foot makes the room feel huge with windows that go all the way up and it has a pretty good view of downtown spokane. the bed was a king is very comfortable And we got a jetted tub for only $110. The staff was polite and answered all the questions I had. Overall it is my new favorite place to stay in spokane. The only downside was I had to pay $10 for parking and thw only other thing that was wrong lol was that there guide pamplet didnt match there tv channels (it was a different tv service) it is the best value and one of the best in general in spokane

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel. Charming and rustic with all the mod con's. Beds were too soft but that's a personal choice. WiFi was sporadic in our room but good in common areas. Loved the hotel though and would definitely stay there again. P. S. Make sure you park in the right parking lot!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We decided to stay at the Montvale rather than at a chain motel just so we could have a historic hotel experience. In this respect, the Montvale shines, as there are not a lot of old hotels like this around anymore. Lots of antique furniture, a floor plan with an open atrium in the middle and skylights overhead, and easy chairs in the common area that allow for sitting and relaxing like in olden times.
That being said, guests should be prepared for the full old-time experience. There is no designated parking area so you have to park in a nearby private lot or find street parking. Also as mentioned, the windows are old single-pane so you get more noise than you might expect. However, given that this is in the heart of downtown I was expecting noise. Overall it is very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. They also have a 24-hour coffee and tea service in the common area that I found helpful. Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: 3rd floor north side (street facing) rooms are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald, Washington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Downtown location is great. The motif is pretty cool, it's really a throwback to a time when people used to sit around and visit (converse) with one another. The hotel needs some TLC. Our room wasn't bad but the bed was small and pillows a bit tired. I do recommend getting a room on the 3rd (top) floor. My room was on the 2nd floor and when the guest above walked around the floor squeaked real loud. The carpets in the common areas are very dirty and in despair at need of cleaning or replacement.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montvale Hotel

Address: 1005 W First Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montvale Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Spokane, the Montvale Hotel is Spokane’s premier boutique hotel destination.This nationally registered Historical Place sits amid downtown Spokane’s bustling West First Avenue, the center of an emerging arts and entertainment district. Dozens of restaurants, theaters and music options are all within a short walk from the hotel. Today, the Montvale Hotel has been reborn into a dynamic new hotel destination. Its historic look, coupled with fashionable amenities makes the Montvale Hotel Spokane’s premier spot for fun, excitement and most importantly – a good night’s rest.The Montvale’s Art Deco steel canopy, designed and built by Spokane artist, Hazen Audel, the two story grand lobby featuring a large fireplace and cozy furniture, and the second and third floor glass atrium all give the hotel a distinctive atmosphere. You will be left with a lasting impression from the hotel’s unique mix of contemporary and historic furnishings in a classic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Montvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montvale Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montvale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.