We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a very nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Montvale Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Montvale Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
The Montvale Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West 1005 First Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 46 hotels in Spokane
washington state
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“had a very nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We checked in later afternoon, the room was very nice, clean. The hotel is older, very quaint, comfortable, but very clean. Every floor has special places to sit and read a book, visit or enjoy a great cup of coffee. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, they valet parked our car with no trouble.
I would stay here again for sure. But would ask for a room on the back side for a little less road noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side, not street side, although the view from the front is great, it is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
12
30
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were a little terrified after reading the negative reviews but were pleasantly surprised by our stay.

Room was clean and quiet. Check in was quick and easy.

We got a great deal on our room and thought the building was lovely. Furniture is a bit banged up but it's all part of the vintage allure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was nicely appointed. However, the pride stopped there. My father found the toilet unclean when he arrived in his room. In addition, after the first night of our stay, both rooms recieved virtually no housekeeping. A couple was also complaining about the same issue with the clerk when I was speaking to her. Finally there was a leak from the roof above my room. The manager was kind enough to comp us for one night free and relocate me to another room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago. Had a great experience then, loved the hotel, atmosphere, restoration, everything. This time, they "upgraded" us to a suite...cool right? Not really! By the end of our one night stay, we ended up being extremely disappointed in the upkeep of our room. Lots of minor things (like damaged walls, non-working lamps, worn out bedding/pillows, broken towel rack & curtain rod, & spiders: I believe we counted 8 before we walked out to check out!), but the major downer was the MOLD in the bathroom...tub, shower curtain, sink! Yuk! Wish we had seen all this in the beginning of the stay, we only stayed one night but didn't open shower until the morning...would have asked for another room. Hotel price...Motel cleanliness. Sorry Montvale, so disappointing in such a cool Hotel! Recommend only when they get their act in gear and keep things maintained again.

Room Tip: Take a walk through your room before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hidden away....very stylish and proper....Please seek this place out if you can! From the front desk (Jaz & Elizabeth) helped me and made me feel very at home...to the excellent room...to the great Bar next door (Rain) my stay was excellent and I can't wait to return to Spokane so I can stay here again! If you have ever stayed at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite the Montvale will take you back to that rustic beauty!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty lake, wa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. we had a good experience the first time we stayed here. Since then this hotel has gone downhill. I wrote a review and not sure what happened to it. The management responeded to it but now its not showing on here. It looks like all the old reviews were wiped out. It might be because the hotel is having issues. we ate at the catacombs downstairs and it was very good but it has now closed its doors. We had a room on the second floor right above the bar... Music shook our bed until the wee hours of the night and we could had to turn up the tv so loud to even hear it.. Very irritating ... I wish we would have been told this upon checking in as we would have not stayed. It was suppose to be a get away for my husband and I. A quiet one... Not booming music....We had to put earplugs in to even try and get to sleep but with the bed shaking no such luck....
The desk in the room had a broken leg on it... the tub was filthy along with the floor not being vacumed...we found a busted out mini light on the floor. It made me nervous to get into the bed. white baseboards need to be whiped off. I did take pictures for the staff but feel its not necessary to post them. It just needs some tlc and management seems to be giving the same response each time someone talks about the cleanliness... "They are working on it." If they are it sure is taking a long time. I am sorry they are having some financial problems but if the housekeeping issue don't get fixed they will not have customers.

Room Tip: do not get a room over the restuarants or bar.. you will be up all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyler R, Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear lisamariew,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. I'm so sorry your stay was such a disappointment. As you pointed out, The Montvale went into bankruptcy in February and is open under a new management team. We're working hard to make The Montvale Spokane's favorite hotel, and reviews like yours tells us where to focus our efforts. I do hope you'll contact our general manager with the photos you mentioned, so that we can focus our training on the issues you mentioned. Thanks again for your thoughts, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had stayed the before it even opened years ago, but then a Groupon popped up and couldn't pass it by. Nice room, cozy and quiet. Unfortunately the Catacombs was closed so couldn't redeem our dinner that was included. Just had to give a shout out to Jaz and John who took care of several little details. Hope to visit again and that any bankruptcy won't affect them. Dave

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyler R, Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear davec128,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! The Montvale is a very special place, and we're so glad you took advantage of the special offer. We're working hard to make The Montvale Spokane's favorite hotel, and feedback like yours tells us we're on the right track. As you pointed out, it's the staff that makes that happen, and I'm so glad our team impressed you. Thanks again for your kind thoughts, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Montvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montvale Hotel

Also Known As:
Montvale Hotel Spokane
Address: West 1005 First Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montvale Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Spokane, the Montvale Hotel is Spokane’s premier boutique hotel destination.This nationally registered Historical Place sits amid downtown Spokane’s bustling West First Avenue, the center of an emerging arts and entertainment district. Dozens of restaurants, theaters and music options are all within a short walk from the hotel. Today, the Montvale Hotel has been reborn into a dynamic new hotel destination. Its historic look, coupled with fashionable amenities makes the Montvale Hotel Spokane’s premier spot for fun, excitement and most importantly – a good night’s rest.The Montvale’s Art Deco steel canopy, designed and built by Spokane artist, Hazen Audel, the two story grand lobby featuring a large fireplace and cozy furniture, and the second and third floor glass atrium all give the hotel a distinctive atmosphere. You will be left with a lasting impression from the hotel’s unique mix of contemporary and historic furnishings in a classic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Montvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montvale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.