We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50's diner and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolffy's Hamburgers

Wolffy's Hamburgers
1229 N Hamilton Street, Spokane, WA 99202
+1 509-499-9324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 693 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“50's diner and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Small. Cute. Personable waiters/cooks who enjoyed each other and their work. Huge great tasting chocolate milkshake!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“quick & tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second choice because our first choice was closed at 4 pm. It was almost 5 when we got to downtown Spokane. The little retro food stop is small but service was quick and you watch your burgers, fries and onion rings as they are prepared by a young man. Burger was very good, a little crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside. French fries and onion rings were just right. Good prices too. The young ladies who took our order were very charming and friendly as well. Another one added to our faves list!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
697 reviews 697 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Great old style burger place, family run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I pulled in on my way to a vintage travel trailer rally. Wolffy's is in the university district so parking could be rough, even without a 22' travel trailer in tow. But the burger gods were smiling and right outside the door was a double long spot and empty. The only empty parking spots I had seen!

One generation of the family running Wolffy's was eating inside and another working behind the counter. The elder enjoyed looking at our vintage rigs. The younger I overheard saying to his trainee that "he only puts stuff on the menu he likes". Strikes me that is a pretty good policy, given that he seemed to like some pretty good stuff.

He suggested a fresh banana/chocolate malt for me and it was a very good choice. The burger was just like a non chain, non fast food, old style hamburger was supposed to be. I did opt for a blue cheese/jalapeno burger though with Cajun sauce. Very good.

I'm glad I pulled off the interstate, only a mile and a half or so. Well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I can only review their chocolate shake, but it was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent chocolate shake, I wish I had been hungrier, but I had just eaten somewhere else. I had to get me something though and I opted for a shake. Although there is a drive-through, I really wanted to see what it looked like inside. Loved the layout, just like a 50's diner with the spinning plastic covered seats. You can watch them make your food right before your eyes. Lot's of windows to see outside. Love these kinds of places.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seventeen seats is all they have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

so you might have to wait during busy periods. It'll be worth it! Good burgers, the fries weren't overdone and you get enough for two, service quick and friendly. One scoop of ice cream for dessert is about twice what you get elsewhere. Want a traditional hamburger, like McDonald's doesn't make? This is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolffy's Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Wolffy's Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolffy's Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.