We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very posiitive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Diner

Frank's Diner
1516 W 2nd Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-7020
509-747-8798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 700 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very posiitive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great food, historical railcar, friendly service and fair prices.

I modified my breakfast, with the recommendation of servicer, sandi,
I made a completely custom breakfast for myself with no extra charge.

Loved this place all around...you are in for a treat if you go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    132
    41
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ST PETERSBURG
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Train Car!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I just had a wonderful breakfast in a converted 1907 train car. It is a Tuesday morning and there was a 30 minute wait! It was worth the wait! When in Spokane come here. Close to movie theater

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have read about Franks but for some reason had never made it there to eat until this trip to Spokane. As everyone notes, it is a really quaint old rail dining car. The décor makes it somewhat unique.

You can sit at the counter or in a booth. Both are good options although at the counter you see the action on the grill right infront of you.

Food is very good - pretty much what you would expect of diner fare - don't come here expecting low cal, low fat foods. The sauces are good.

One plus is that they do offer smaller sizes for those of us who do not want the full-meal-deal.

The price is reasonable but not cheap.
The coffee is good.

Be prepared to wait for a seat because it is almost always busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have come here a few times when I'm in town and the food is always fantastic. Any place that has 5 pounds of hashbrowns on the grill at all times is my kind of place. The breakfast selection has the usual favorites but many dishes are served up with a bit of a twist on classic diner fare. For example, the Eggs Benedict can come with a creole inspired hollandaise sauce. The pancakes are fluffy and stacked high.

My only issue was during my most recent visit. The classic train car is a great venue, but the seating is very limited and there is usually a wait. No problem. But this time the hostess didn't seem to be very organized. She told us to expect a 15 minute wait, but as time went on (30 minutes in fact), we noticed that people that arrived after us were being seated. We got in eventually, but it made a bad first impression.

Overall though, this is a consistent and outstanding breakfast spot.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice railroad car diner, 15 minute wait to sit was ok.food was good service was good.I had the silver dollar pancakes which were very good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.