We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool stop for breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Diner

Frank's Diner
1516 W 2nd Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-7020
509-747-8798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 700 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Astoria, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool stop for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After driving by the cute railroad car several times on our visit to Spokane we had to stop here for breakfast on Sunday morning. We got there shortly after 7AM and were seated right away but there was definitely a line by the time we left, which must mean it's a popular place! Our breakfast was excellent and quick, with great service from our waitress. The railcar was darling, enjoyed our meal very much!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    132
    41
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great whistle stop for breaky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Long lines but complimentary coffee while you wait with a heated out-door, open air waiting area. Classic American breakfast await with wonderful Belgium Waffles and quality eggs and sausages! Great location because it is just off the main drag with good parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfasts anywhere! Friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The breakfast menu was extensive. Food was prepared perfectly. Had to return a second time because it was so exceptional. Wish Frank's diner was in our home town. Extraordinary personnel. One waitress actually remembered me from a visit several months earlier. Great train car as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A real diner experience, specially if you are seated at the counter. Great food and very attentive, unobtrusive service. There was a line late morning midweek, can only imagine what weekend breakfast must be like.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great show from the counter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just had breakfast at Frank's Diner this morning. This was our second time to eat here as we live 300 miles away and rarely get to Spokane.

The wait for a seat at the counter this morning at 8:30 was only 10 minutes!. I think the wait for a booth was longer. Both times we've eaten at the counter sitting directly behind the cooks who are madly serving up great breakfasts. Very entertaining watching them cook everything and only using a pair of flippers cook each meal on the large grills they have.

This restaurant is well known for their hash browns and it was interesting to see the huge quantity they are grilling at a time.

We were both well pleased with our breakfast selections and the blueberry French toast the person next to us had also looked great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.