We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kim's Korean Restaurant

Kim's Korean Restaurant
1314 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1809
509-326-3187
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 769 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Karlskrona, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Kim's is the first pure Korean restaurant I have been to but my spouse swears by this place. The squid bokkeum is fabulous and I am utterly seduced by the shear number of small dishes that you get. The variety and flavors are simply delightful. It may look like a dive but it has some of the tastiest affordable food in town. The lunch menu is quite affordable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent short ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a tiny hole in the wall run by a very kind Korean lady. Don't be afraid to go in just because it's run down. You'll get down home Korean cooking. Short ribs, bulgogi etc.

Make sure you ask for some gokuchang sauce on the side. You also get a full spread of little Korean pickles, Kimchi, Potato Salad, Rice etc.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WE LOVE KIM'S! BEST Korean food in Spokane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We love to @ Kim's. It is delicious. My husband gets the bulgogi everytime and my son loves her fried Rice. I try different things haven't Been dissipointed yet. Very good service too. Very friendly. She will teach the kids some Korean if they ask.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Like eating at your Ajima's (auntie's) place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The moment you spot the restaurant (behind the Dutch Brothers drive through), You know you are at a Korean kitchen restaurant. The ambience is like being at your Korean Ajima's house : sporadic Korean artifacts, a bookcase of encyclopedias, and knitted seat covers. We asked for a high chair, but we got a booster seat. The ladies doted on my daughter as they brought each course of our food. We order the Daeji gogi (spicy pork), Kim bap, and yu kae jang (spicy soup). The banchan (small plates) were plentiful. The kim bap was good and you can tell they just threw it together in the kitchen; it was very fresh. The spicy dipping sauce was a nice added touch. The spicy pork had sprouts, broccoli and carrots. It came sizzling out on the plate. it was definitely the highlight of the meal. The soup was very spicy. The balance of the flavors were a little off for me, but my husband loved it (I am quite particular on my yu kae jang). As we left, a group of Korean students came in; a sure sign that you are in the right place.

Despite the outward appearance: the kitchen and bathroom were immaculate. This restaurant is a modest establishment, but the ladies who run it are ambassadors of good Korean cooking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Kim's Korean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Kim's Korean is the only authentic Korean food in the Downtown Spokane Area. It is a small restaurant and gets very busy for the lunch rush and seating is limited. The food here is fantastic but what the owner is really good at is her soups. Korean food is not a mild blend of spices but rather a full on in your face flavor and her soups really represent her background. If your adventurous then the soup is for you but all her food is excellent.
Heres a tip: Dinner crowd is much smaller and seating is a lot easier so go after 4pm to get a good spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim's Korean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kim's Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim's Korean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.