We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need mo chicken...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chkn-N-Mo

Chkn-N-Mo
414 1/2 W Sprague Ave, Spokane, WA 99201
509-838-5071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 769 Restaurants in Spokane
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Benton City, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I need mo chicken...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

People come here for the food. Fresh and Fantastic Fried Chicken. The best hushpuppies outside of Alabama. You may pass this place if you are in a hurry. It is a very small spot with lots of heart. You don't need to dress up here. Just bring you curiosity and appitite and enjoy.
You'll be back for mo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I LOVE BBQ - my husband isn't that crazy about it but he LOVED the food here, We both agreed this is a wonderful place to get quality yummy food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane, washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

So glad I returned, even the coleslaw was excellent! I had memories of "ok" food here so it had been awhile...in all fairness, my mother-in-law is southern and makes killer fried chicken, anyway, my daughter and I split a pulled pork sandwich and a 2 piece chicken dinner - with hush puppies and coleslaw and it was all divine. It took awhile, but it was obvious that everything was prepared after we ordered it - so wonderfully crisp and fresh. I will remember to order and pick this up for a party.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken in Spokane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've been to Chicken-N-More numerous times and pretty much had everything on the menu. The fried chicken is far and away the best thing on the menu. It would be very respectable in the South let alone the Inland Northwest.

Service: There is no table service. You order up front and wait for your name to be called. No issues with that. It's an informal place.

Food: I'd rate the chicken by itself excellent. The reason for my very good overall rating is I think they could pay more attention to their sides. Some are prepared foods like the potato and macaroni salads. Others like the greens lack seasoning and flavor. Maybe a little bacon, garlic, vinegar etc. Similarly, the red beans and rice are very basic and just okay.

Value: They charge reasonable prices for the quality and quantiy of the food.

Atmosphere: This is a very small place with a few booths and tables. Nothing fancy. It's about the chicken.

If you want fried chicken in Spokane, this is the only place worth considering.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great little place to grab some good southern fried chicken! My wife and I both had the fried chicken. She had the collared greens with beans and I had the coleslaw and beans. Both were good, but the fried chicken was the star. The offer ribs and catfish as well. We'll have to check those out next time, cause we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chkn-N-Mo also viewed

 

Been to Chkn-N-Mo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chkn-N-Mo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.