We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for dinner with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clinkerdagger

Clinkerdagger
West 621 Mallon Street, Suite 404, Spokane, WA 99201-2154
(509) 328-5965
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clinkerdagger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 767 Restaurants in Spokane
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Vacaville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I took some business acquaintances to Clinkerdagger on a nice summer evening to enjoy the back deck. Despite a few people waiting in the front of the restaurant, we were seated outside without delay (we did make a reservation however). The back deck is interesting as its suspended on the side of a steep slope overlooking the river. It's nice and enclosed so there is no annoying wind, but you can see the sights just fine.

The food is fairly standard steakhouse fare, but everything is prepared very well and is of high quality. The prime rib was especially large and very well prepared. Drinks were a bit pricy for the size, but well poured as well. The wine list has some interesting selections and isn't completely overpriced.

The only gripe we had was the wait staff seemed overwhelmed and we had long lapses between service. Glasses remained empty for a long time and when we ordered a rather high end wine bottle, it came out well AFTER the food arrived. Oops.

Overall this is a great spot for dinner, drinks and a great view of Spokane. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    86
    37
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top restaurant with a wunderful view of the Spokane River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've been eating there on a sunday evening. My friend and I had both beef which was soo good. The food and the view on the river makes the restaurant to an outstanding one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Spokane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Love the lunch, love the happy hour and love the dinner menu! The staff are excellent. If it's a warm day make sure u sit on the balcony it a beautiful view. The Lavender martins are to die for.
Make the time to go! It's worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a late Sunday lunch when the restaurant was fairly quiet. Seated outside with great views over the river and city center. Smoked salmon starter was pretty average but thoroughly enjoyed my pancetta coated halibut. Everyone else in the party enjoyed their meals so thumbs up for the food. On the down side, I did think the prices were on the high side. Service was friendly and not slow like many seem to have commented. Would consider going back but it would have to be a special occasion to pay these high prices

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“I'd go again...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ate here for an impromptu lunch while in town for a convention. We were a party of six, looking for lunch at around noon on a Saturday. The inner dining room was empty save for a few seated at the bar, and the outside tables had maybe many empty tables. This is the only time I've been and I'd be curious to see what a return visit would be like, but here are my impressions:

The Good:
The outside dining area is a well done modern alteration to the historic building. I imagine it gets very full and would be a popular gathering spot for tourists and locals alike. They had umbrellas out to offer shade, and the furniture was nicely more substantial than most outdoor seating, which contributed to a "fine dining" vibe.

My food was great and most of the rest of my party of six was happy with their lunches. One person said it was "just ok."

The Bad:
As others have commented, service was slow. It annoys me to have to wait to pounce on the server in order to get a check so I can leave - especially when he knew we had a limited window for lunch. I understand time to cook, but there really isn't any excuse for making people wait a long time to pay and open up the table for more customers. Which leads me to...

The Ugly:
Tables outside were four tops, and the hostess actually expected us to sit at two separate tables when she seated us. She said the restaurant doesn't let people move tables together, which seems bizarre and I was surprised she didn't tell us that before trying to seat us - though I suppose she knew we'd have walked out. After much insistence on our part she finally went back inside and returned having gotten permission to let our party sit together. She also made comments that we were only getting to do it because all of their reservations weren't due until later - and was slightly mollified when we assured her our time was limited due to our schedule anyway. Not a great way to make customers feel welcome.

So go for the scenery, the food was fine, but I strongly recommend you do not go with a group. Perhaps if you make a reservation you won't meet the attitude we received, but I really couldn't say.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebiMoon, General Manager at Clinkerdagger, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I appreciate your feedback, I would love to speak with you personally to get a little more information. I promise we pull tables together for large parties on a daily bases. It sounds as though there were a few things in your recent visit that do not meet our standards. You can reach me at dmoon@r-u-i.com or 509 328 5965. Sincerely, Debi Moon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinkerdagger also viewed

 

Been to Clinkerdagger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinkerdagger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.