We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca Mexican Restaurant

Azteca Mexican Restaurant
245 W Spokane Falls Blvd, Spokane, WA 99201-0124
509-456-0350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 700 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We walked over from our hotel after a long drive and we were starving. As the previous reviewer stated, it was crowed and understaffed. I have to admit our waiter did everything but bring the chips out. He seated us, took our order, made the drinks at the bar, brought the food, refills, cashier and maybe even made the food. The guy was really trying and we left him a nice tip. The food was pretty good, the verde burrito was huge and had a good flavor, same with the fish tacos but it is still more on the American side of things but it is what it is. The place isn't all that pretty nor are the prices, but it hit the spot, just can't say it was anything special to go out of your way for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    23
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overcrowded and understaffed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Azteca in Coeur d' Alene is one of our favorite restaurants, so we thought we would try the downtown location. Unfortunately, it was a very busy night and nothing went well. Our drink orders came out incorrectly and then the waiter brought out the wrong meal. We were in town for a play, so nothing was sent back. The waiter was very apologetic, but that was about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It All Tastes the Same!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Bland food unattractively presented by disinterested staff pretty much sums up our experience. The floor was sticky, the menus were plastic-coated so the food blotches were detectable, and the location is inconvenient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't order salads in a Mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I didn't feel like waiting to get seated at Chili's so we opted for Azteca down the block. It was Saturday night and very busy in the restaurant. We were seated right away in the bar at a booth that turned out to be the main highway to the bathrooms, water station, prep area & kitchen.

We were given chips right away & three small cups of housemade salsa which were the same salsa. The chips were tasty but the salsa was pretty lame -- no spice, runny with very few chunks, bland and kind of reminiscent of tomato sauce. I know they like their salsa rather runny in Mexico but it always has a wonderful flavor. This was a disappointment.

Despite being front row at the motor speedway, getting our drink & food orders was another story: The drinks came after about 10 minutes, and we sat around for an additional 20 minutes before the server -- who had rushed past us over a dozen times -- finally acknowledged us. We ordered two grande margaritas; a regular lime flavored and a mango strawberry one, which was excessively sweet. The lime margarita was nothing special. I am pretty sure they "underserved" us with regards to the alcohol. It was happy hour so maybe the bartender felt justified in skimping on the bottom shelf tequila.

We also ordered two Bandera salads, which looked like a Cobb salad in the menu. We figured it would be healthier & bigger than the taco salad. Our mistake. When the salads finally arrived, they looked nothing like the photo. The lettuce was standard bag mix and there was no dressing. When we asked, the server said "it doesn't come with dressing. We put salt on it." Huh!? Well it took another 4 minutes and two staff to get some ranch dressing and another cup of salsa to top our salads. Considering the $10 price tag, we were flabbergasted. The small portion of steak on the salad wasn't bad but we were really disappointed overall. I believe it was the worst salad we've ever had. We will still give the north side Azteca a try but will never return to this venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Roeulx, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Food wasn't bad, but parking was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

To qualify this, I am originally from Southern California and Mexican food was a routine part of my diet. The food was just ok in my book, but I'm hard to please with any americanized mexican food. The service was wonderful, portion sizes were great. I think most non border state residents would enjoy the food here. The main problem was that the restaurant doesn't have it's own parking. They give you a discount on your meal for the cost of parking; however, the night we dined there was a parade in downtown and so the parking company had jacked up the price for special event parking to the tune of about $20. The restaurant gave me $5 toward the price of the meal. Check ahead on the the Spokane events to find out about the parking situation before driving in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azteca Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.