We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clover

Clover
913 E. Sharp, Spokane, WA
509-487-2937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 769 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clover is a very sweet place in the heart of the Gonzaga district. I enjoyed my Bibb and blue salad very much as well as gespacho soup. My husband had the stuffed chicken breast as well as the mashed potatoes. He felt his food was too salty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Oasis in a culinary desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spokane isn't the first place I think of when I think of good food. Clover, a quaint restaurant in a house near Gonzaga, proves the exception to that rule. Using farm-to-table techniques, an onsite bakery, and a wonderful little bar with hand crafted cocktails, Clover is sure to please. Although the menu changes occasionally, you can't go wrong with a bowl of clams and grilled bread as an app. The food is well prepared and comes quickly - and service has always been top notch as well. Worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hand made food, prepared with care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This delicious little restaurant is a hidden gem in Spokane. It stands out because the owners must really care about food. There was no hint at pre-prepared or packaged ingredients. I was part of a large group of people (about 35) and each meal was specially prepared and presented to order. The wait staff is very solicitous, in a group as large as ours, it can be easy to be overwhelmed, but they were not. They wanted to ensure that our experience was memorable and it was! I ordered the bouillabase and a special caprese salad that was just heavenly. All of the guests comments on how wonderful the food and service was. It is a converted house, just charming, with the front yard full of herbs that they no doubt use in their food. I will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is in a two story house that has been wonderfully converted to a cozy restaurant. There is an outside area, a small bar and a few tables on the first floor and the main dining on the second. Everyone enjoyed their selections which included halibut, salmon, lamb, and cioppino. It is on the very high end for Spokane, about $450 for 6 people, including shared salads, entrees, 3 desserts, drinks. They were out of our desert choice, though we tried some others. You could do it for less but it will still be pricey. We had great wait staff. They seemed quite conscious of prices. All in all a very nice experience. The rack of lamb looked particularly good. The salmon was just OK. The orange cake was a disappointing. The staff is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything going for it...a bit under-offered for most dishes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Bloomsday eve, three friends enjoying the evening. Too cold to eat outside, although it looks lovely especially with the fence to block the parking lots. We'd asked for the quietest area, of which there is one: the second story backporch. That was lovely. Everywhere else would have been too noisy...and for such a nice restaurant, is the sports tv necessary?
Soups: gazpaucho under seasoned. Onion soup insipidly underseasoned. Ditto, tomato bisque. All almost there, but perhaps I like alot of pep. Crab ravioli delightful concept but tasted of delicious cream sauce, not crab. Asparagus melon salad delicious melon and asparagus but where was the vinagrette? A splurge of dessert was delicious...but really nothing special. Quality of chocolate could have improved. The best, of course: the bread. And our waitress.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clover also viewed

 

Been to Clover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.