We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manito Park

Manito Park
1702 S. Grand Blvd., Spokane, WA 99203
509-625-6622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Attractions in Spokane
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Very much worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Manito Park has many different areas, e.g. rose garden, Japanese garden, etc. It's very pleasant walking around between the different areas as the water features are also very enticing. We only had a day in Spokane, but we were happy to spend a couple of hours of it in Manito Park. The area around the park is also very appealing.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    80
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose, Wyoming
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The nicest free Rose Garden in the Northwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

No wonder this is the number 1 site to see, the flowering plants are a cascade of colors with over 150 species here.
Overlooking the valley, the height of the park top gives a perfect plateau for the Rose's and withno entrance fee, shame on you if you do not stop here.
Enjoy a simple walk, but stop and smell the roses like the bees do!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best free attraction in Spokane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

After a great meal at Picabu Bistro, my wife and I decided to take a stroll around Manito Park. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, romantic, scenic, elegant, inspiring, fragrant. Next time we are going to have a picnic there in the rose garden. You have to see the amazing Japanese gardens. Little cafe in the middle of the park. Get one scoop of ice cream, it is huge. Also drive around the neighborhood and look at the amazing craftsman homes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Best Park & Garden's Money can buy-for FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Friends of Manito do plant sales from the greenhouse in the spring and if I remember correctly the also sale Poinsettias around the Holiday's. Very well maintained grounds, something for everyone in your family, group of friends, or just a relaxing walk for yourself! Enjoy the pond, rose gardens (a favorite place for couples to get hitched/reservations req.) conservatory, fountain, Japanese garden, and all the nature you need. Take a lunch, leave a donation, not a requirement but it helps the park out. Always a different smell or a brightly colored flower to see. FYI: In the winter there are some great sledding ops. I always end up spending way more time than I think I would!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Place Of True Beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Manito Park is a city owned horticultural GEM! If you are looking for a place in Spokane to ENJOY peace & quiet, then Manito Park is just that place.
A composition of different & varying gardens. Rose garden, English garden, A Japanese garden , and an arboretum. To name a few.
You can stroll the many acres, watch kids play in a water park on the outskirts of the gardens, or just sit & bask in the quiet & solitude that this park offers it visitors.
The people of Spokane are very fortunate to have this Beautiful garden park in their town.
If you are in Spokane , visit Manito Park. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manito Park also viewed

 

Been to Manito Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manito Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.