We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for what you pay..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list
Apple Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9508 N. Division, Spokane, WA 99218   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad for what you pay..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We picked the Apple Tree because we wanted to stay for the cheapest we could in Spokane for the night since we were getting in late and waking early. This was the perfect place for that.

We stayed on a Friday night and didn't hear ANY other rooms. It was nice and quiet. The heater and air conditioning both worked very well. It was so cute and tiny! The bed was suprisingly comfortable (we had stayed somewhere in MO the night before for about $20 more and the bed was rock hard!).

The sink and tub backed up a little bit.. but wasn't an issue. We just needed a place quickly shower before heading out so it wasn't a big deal for us.

If you're tight on money and need a place to lay your head for the night.. this is it!

Room Tip: We asked for non smoking and didn't smell smoke at all (other reviewers had issues with this I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
40
28
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

and the reason we do is because this motel has great staff who care, is in a great location and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. Last but not least is the price...... very affordable and not overpriced. Have been coming to the Apple Tree for the past fifteen years and NEVER encountered any problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been coming to the Apple Tree Inn for four years with a golfing group, all males. If our wives were with us I can guarantee we wouldn't be staying here. Each year I hope that the management will order more than cursory housekeeping for the rooms. It's time for a facelift. Some things would be easily remedied like cleaning the vanes on the air conditioning units, which currently are covered in dust. Perhaps the filters also need changing. More than that, though, it is time to replace some of the bathroom silicone, the taps (which have already given many years of service, the bathroom linoleum and the carpeting throughout. One of the two bedrooms in the unit we took this year smelled very musty. I mentioned it to the desk clerk just after checking in but didn't see or hear of any follow up action.

On the positive side, because these rooms used to be apartments, they are more spacious than you would normally get in a motel without booking a suite.

Our group has come back to the Apple Tree Inn because the rates are very good, but you do get what you pay for. I would be happy for higher rates if the rooms were brought up to a better standard. We are contemplating other accommodation next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleTreeInnMotel, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about our motel. Your constructive criticism is greatly appreciated. We acknowledge that some of our rooms are in need of a face lift. Now that our slower seasons are approaching, we are taking the time to go through each room individually and update them as necessary. This includes replacing overused taps, switching the vinyl into tiles, and replacing old carpets. Within the next few weeks, each room will also have a new 32 inch LED flat screen tv and an iron and board. Coffeepots that were available upon request will now be permanently in every room. Housekeeping has been instructed to thoroughly clean any dirty vents as well as be more attentive to details. We are very sorry to hear that the concern you had upon check in went unnoticed; the front desk has been instructed to fill out maintenance request forms so guest's concerns can be resolved promptly.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. We hope that you and your golf group with give us another chance and see all the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was a very basic older hotel. It was clean and safe feeling. This is definitely a no frills hotel but a good value for the money. They do offer a continental breakfast. Our room was clean and slightly noisy (due to traffic on road by hotel- not the fault of the hotel). You might ask for a room that did not have a window to hear highway noise.
I would recommend this if you are there for getting rest while traveling.
We felt it was good value. We slept well once we turned on the air conditioner to make sure the road noise was lessened.
Value and on a budget in need of a night's rest, this will be a place to consider.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa State
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Apple Tree Inn a few times. I just stayed there Tuesday August 20 2013 with my 3 year old, 10 month old and my gma. We were in the room less than 10 minutes and the baby was crawling around on the floor and in the 10 minutes we were there from his knees to the tips of his toes were completely black. no skin showing. We alerted the woman on duty that nite and she asked us to talk to the person upon check out. We told her how discusting and gross that is and all she did was take $10 off our bill! Seriously! I think we should get a TOTAL REFUND!!! i dont plan on staying there agian! This experience was awful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Building "E" room 610. The room was clean, maintenance was kept up very well and room was comfortable. We were in Spokane for a concert and enjoyed the location and ammenties were perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We often travel to Spokane and usually with our dog in tow. We stayed at the Apple Tree Inn a couple years ago because it is a dog-friendly hotel. What a mistake. The only rooms they allow dogs in are smoking rooms and the stale smoke in the room was overwhelming. Because it was a first-floor room, we could not safely open the windows for the night. They provided us with an air sanitizer, but it was of little help. I'm sensitive to smoke and my husband has asthma. This was not a good place to stay, and we haven't returned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleTreeInnMotel, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us fell short of your expectations. As stated in your review, we do allow small dogs in our smoking rooms only. This has been our pet policy for years. We acknowledge that not everyone can be in a smoking rooms due to asthma, allergies, etc..; therefore that is why we clearly state our policy at the time of the reservation and during check in so the guest knows this. We offer the option of having smoking rooms aired out prior to arrival as well as we have air fresher and an ozone box on hand. Our front desk staff did everything they could to do to make your stay comfortable in this situation. Again, we are sorry that you were not very satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 9508 N. Division, Spokane, WA 99218
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Spokane
Apple Tree Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.