We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to stay while visiting Whitworth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list
Apple Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9508 N. Division, Spokane, WA 99218   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap place to stay while visiting Whitworth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at Apple Tree Inn which is about 1 mile from Whitworth University campus. The best rate is the 'sign' rate which is shown on the street sign on Newport Ave about 2 blocks away. Refer to it for the rate. I'm always comfortable staying here as it's cheap, relatively clean given the price and has a decent breakfast. However, I wouldn't take my family here as my wife is more particular.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
39
28
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Seriously the most disgusting dump I've ever had the displeasure of being in. Zero security, no keyed entry to common areas where room doors in. Those doors are unlocked at all times. The door in the room doesn't shut on its own and has no other locks aside from it shutting. Garbage every where under the bed and in drawers and cupboards. Hair EVERYWHERE on the toilet, the tub, and in the bed. Broken outlets. The bed was broken but being supported by a wood chunk shoved underneath. Constant outside noise from traffic and sirens. I can hear the person in the next room sneeze. Room is freezing no matter what. Sheets are super itchy! Just a DUMP!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleTreeInnMotel, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We're sorry to hear your stay (that was pre-paid by a local high end furniture company) was unsatisfactory. Upon hearing your complaint at check-out, our front desk clerk immediately apologized, discounted the room rate, and also notified the head housekeeper and management.

The hallways are not locked, but that is the case in many hotels. Your room has a very heavy and secure metal door that actually has 2 locks. One is the door handle and the other is the deadbolt.

We apologize for the plastic bag in the cabinet and the 2 strands of hair that were found on the toilet, and agree that is absolutely unacceptable. The cabinet high up above the microwave is the only place that had garbage (a single grocery bag) and also the place that had the only broken outlet. The housekeeper that had cleaned the room was a recent new hire, and subsequently let go due to her multiple unsatisfactory performances.

We inspected the queen bed & frame, which were not broken. The wood block was only placed underneath it to provide further support to the sound frame. Almost all of our bed frames have wood blocks underneath and none of the bed frames are broken. We have extra new frames in storage and replace anything broken immediately.

The outlet that is in the high cabinet (above the microwave) is not broken, but had a screw loose that has since been fixed. Upon request, we do also offer rooms away from the street noise if you are a light sleeper.

Cleanliness, comfort and a good night's sleep is of utmost importance to us. We sincerely do apologize our efforts did not meet your expectations. We hope to have another chance to provide a better experience the next time you stay with us.

Apple Tree Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed for 3 days. The room they originally gave me looked clean & nicely decorated, yet had an odor. They happily moved me to another room and it was great. Lots of closet and drawer space. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and decorative. Continental breakfast was nice. Really a pleasant little place located in a great location. I am leery of 2 stars places - have had some bad experiences but this one is definitely one of the nicer 2 star motels. I would stay there again and easily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

When I called the front desk to see if there were any vacancies,the lady was very helpful and efficient. She let me preview the room to see if it would be sufficient for our needs.The room proved to be very clean and fairly spacious, and was a non-smoking room.Although the room sided on to North Division street, which can be noisy at times,we were happy with the price and cleanliness of it. The continental breakfast featured fresh muffins,bagels etc. which was fine and they have one older computer for guests to use for free which came in handy.The pool area looked ok although we did not use it. The shopping nearby turned out to be excellent with lots of stores including Walmart supercentre,Costco,Target,etc. I recommend it and will consider staying there when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Choose something away from North Division street as it is busy during peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family reserved three non-smoking suites for three nights at the Apple Tree Inn for a family function that we attended in August. We booked our rooms directly through the hotel two months in advance.

When we arrived, we were given three smoking suites, which was a major issue because a few family members have allergies, but because of the late hour, we took the rooms and hoped to resolve the issue in the morning.

We found the rooms themselves to be atrocious. The beds were uncomfortable, and the pillows (the few that they provide) were lumpy. One of the bathrooms had a toilet that leaked all night. Overall the rooms were outdated and in disrepair. Wi-Fi was non-existent, though it's advertised they have it. We all wound up using our smart phones' 3G service to do anything on the Internet.

Unfortunately, Apple Tree was not willing to fix their mistake. In fact, the manager on duty was very rude about it, stating we had been the ones that reserved smoking rooms though we could show we had reserved non-smoking rooms.

We canceled our last two nights there, and wound up moving to a national chain motel a couple miles down the road. We paid the same price for the new rooms, but had much better service and rooms in much better condition.

Our family has stayed at the Apple Tree Inn for decades. It had been a tradition to stay there while in Spokane. After our last experience, I am saddened to say that staying at the Apple Tree will be a tradition no more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleTreeInnMotel, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We apologize that your stay here was not enjoyable. Unfortunately, we did not have any non-smoking rooms available when you booked your room (even though you did book it in advance.) All of the non-smoking rooms were booked by other guests prior to your reservation. You did not provide us any proof showing you booked non-smoking rooms although we did not ask for proof as well. However, we did apologize about the mix up and provided a discount.

Nobody in our staff was notified of this problem until it was near check-out time. We did not have any problems allowing you to check out early without penalty. You asked for a late check-out (12 pm instead of 11 am) which we kindly obliged. When we knocked on your door to clean the room at 12:30 pm, you were still in your room and told us we promised a 1 pm check out (even though we did not) and also demanded rudely that we must comply because it was our mistake. It was then where we finally decided to tell you that it was not possible for you to have booked a non-smoking room (I personally looked at all reservations for that day and when they were made).

I am sorry you had issues with the room. We have tons of extra pillows and the wi-fi could be fixed with a quick reset. Unfortunately, nobody was notified of these problems and thus we were not given a chance to fix it. We have a maintenance man on duty 24/7 who would've easily fixed a leaky toilet.

Your brother is a regular here and is always welcome back. I am sorry your first experience here was not a good one and hope we can remedy it one day.

Apple Tree Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good stay, descent beds, our room had 2 bedrooms and a kitchen listed as a family suite had
2 queen beds and 2 twin beds. Rooms where clean, staff was nice, basic continental breakfast.
Pool was nice. Rooms where quiet.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel was easy to find and in a great location for shopping.
It is the north end of town - close by - Walmart, Target, Tj Maxx, Best Buy, Olive Garden, Applebees, a few Mexican, Chinese, Pizza places grocery stores, fast food - and more - all within walking distance.

Pool was clean and in the summer when it is 38C - just fine.

Rooms were basic - we had a fridge, sink and microwave which was great. Price as also good.

Breakfast was mostly cereal and breads but included.

There was a musty smell in our room. Opening a window helped.

Service was good.

I would go back if in Spokane.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 9508 N. Division, Spokane, WA 99218
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Spokane
Apple Tree Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.